Metropolitan Planning

Federal transportation legislation requires that a Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) be designated to carry out the metropolitan transportation planning process for each urbanized area with a population of at least 50,000. Each urbanized area with a population of 200,000 or greater is designated as a Transportation Management Area (TMA.) and is subject to additional transportation planning requirements.

The Division of Planning coordinates transportation planning activities with the nine MPOs across the state. Five of these MPOs are designated as TMAs: Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky, Evansville-Henderson, Huntington-Ashland, Lexington, and Louisville. The non-TMA MPOs are Bowling Green, Clarksville, Elizabethtown, and Owensboro. The MPO planning boundaries are identified below:


Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Information

 Kentucky's Metropolitan Planning Organizations

KYTC Information for MPOs

Document Routing Information 

This page is maintained by, who may be contacted to make corrections or changes.

Follow Us