Award Ceremony Photos


Occupant Protection Awards

August 8, 2018

The Kentucky Office of Highway Safety (KOHS) honored law enforcement officers from 114 agencies across the Commonwealth on Aug. 8 for their efforts to increase the use of seat belts and child restraints in motor vehicles. The Governor’s Occupant Protection Enforcement Awards ceremony was held at the Hyatt Regency in Lexington. Awards were presented to officers with the most occupant protection citations in each agency and in each division. There are six divisions, broken down by number of officers within the agency, and a division for Kentucky State Police.  All winners received a plaque, while the top three division winners were presented with the Highway Safety All-Star Award – an encased commemorative baseball bat from Louisville Slugger.

Click the links below to see a listing of the OP Individual Winners and the OP Division Winners:

List of OP Individual Winners

List of OP Division Winners

Division Winner Group Photos:

  • Division I    (1-10 Officers)


  • Division II   (11-25 Officers)


  • Division III  (26-50 Officers)


  • Division IV  (51-100 Officers)


  • Division V   (100+ Officers)


  • Division VI  (Kentucky State Police Division)


Division Winner Individual Photos:

  • Division I  (1-10 Officers)

    • Third Place:  Deputy Gary McCoy, Pike County Sheriff's Office

    • Second Place:  Officer Brian Locknane, Cold Spring Police Department

    • First Place:  Officer Greg Raque, Anchorage Police Department

  • Division II  (11-25 Officers)

    • Third Place:  Deputy Danny Williams, Calloway County Sheriff's Office

    • Second Place:  Deputy Jay Johnson, Boyd County Sheriff's Office

    • First Place:  Sergeant Tony Cantrell, Grayson Police Department

  • Division III  (26-50 Officers)

    • Third Place:  Patrolman Steven Sparks, London Police Department

    • Second Place:  Captain Chris Matano, Danville Police Department

    • First Place:  Deputy Jerry Hardin, Nelson County Sheriff's Office

  • Division IV  (51-100 Officers)

    • Third Place:  Officer Kenneth Swanson, Elizabethtown Police Department

    • Second Place:  Officer Chris Boone, Florence Police Department

    • First Place:  Officer Ben Smith, Georgetown Police Department

  • Division V  (100+ Officers)

    • Third Place:  Deputy Teddy Melton, Boone County Sheriff's Office

    • Second Place:  Sergeant Aundria Elam, Lexington Police Department

    • First Place:  Officer David Bassler, Louisville Metro Police Department

  • Division VI  (State Law Enforcement)

    • Third Place:  Trooper Nathan Clinkenbeard, Kentucky State Police Post 01

    • Second Place:  Trooper Ricky Newsom, Kentucky State Police Post 09

    • First Place:  Senior Officer Erik Stallsworth, Kentucky State Police Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Region 05


Click this link to find all OP Award Photos on our Facebook page:

2018 Occupant Protection Award Photos



Impaired Driving Awards

December 12, 2018


200 Mero Street, 4th FloorFrankfortKY40622KY8:00am-4:30pm EST, M-F(502) 564-1438(502) 564-0903 highwaysafety@ky.gov,+Frankfort,+Franklin,+Kentucky+40601&gl=us&sqi=2&z=16&iwloc=A
​This page is maintained by, who may be contacted to make corrections or changes.

Follow Us