Who's in Charge of What?


Mary Westfall-Holbrook, PEChief District EngineerAdministrative Section
Mary is the Executive Director and Chief District Engineer of Highway District 12. Ultimately, all projects and activities of the district are her responsibility. We have listed a number of people on this page who work under Mary's supervision so that you may find the appropriate office to call for your specific question or concern. However, if you do not find what you are looking for among the listings on this page, feel free to call Mary's office (see listing on this page for Karen Parsons).​
Karen ParsonsSecretary to Chief District EngineerAdministrative Section
When you contact the Chief District Engineer's office, you will be directed to Karen first. She can answer most questions and can direct you to the appropriate person or put you in touch with Mary Westfall-Holbrook, the Chief District Engineer, if need be.​
Sara GeorgeInformation OfficerAdministrative Section
Contact this office for general information about Highway District 12 and its projects, services, and activities. Definitely contact Sara if you have questions about a recent District 12 news story, if you have questions about a road closure, or if you want to know the procedures for naming a state road or bridge. In addition, the Information Officer is the coordinator of the Pike County Highway Safety Team, so if you want to attend meetings of this team or become a member, contact Sara. Often people contact Sara just to find out exactly who they need to contact for their specific question or concern.
Sam Hale, PEBranch ManagerProject Development
Sam's branch is involved in the areas of planning, right of way, utilities, environmental analysis, and design. All projects begin in the Project Development Area. If you have questions about whether or not a project is in the State Highway Plan, you can access the plan yourself from the link on District 12's website or you may call Sam's office. If you need information about the status of a project that has not yet gone to construction, this is the office to contact.​
Paxton Weddington, PEBranch ManagerProject Delivery & Preservation I
Paxton's office is responsible for construction and maintenance in Pike, Knott, and Letcher counties. The Section Offices in this Branch include those in Whitesburg and Pikeville. The maintenance facilities includes in this Branch are located at Shelbiana, Canada, Phelps (Pike County), Mayking (Letcher County), and in Hindman (Knott County). You may contact Paxton's office for information about any project under construction in Knott, Letcher, or Pike counties. You may also contact his office if you have concerns about maintenance issues in any of these counties.​
Darold Slone, PEBranch ManagerProject Delivery & Preservation II
Darold's office is responsible for construction and maintenance in Floyd, Johnson, Martin, and Lawrence counties. The Section Offices in this Branch include those at Allen (for Floyd and Martin counties) and Staffordsville (for Johnson and Lawrence counties). The maintenance facilities in this Branch includes those at Allen and Minnie (Floyd County), Inez (Martin County), Staffordsville (Johnson County), and Yatesville (Lawrence County). You may contact Darold's office for information about any project under construction in Floyd, Johnson, Martin, and Lawrence counties. You may also contact Darold's office if you have concerns about maintenance issues in any of these counties.​
Greg Couch, PEBranch ManagerEngineering Support
You may contact Greg's office if you have concerns about a traffic signal, a road sign, luminaires, advance warning flashers, or any other permanent traffic sign or signal. In addition, Greg's office is responsible for all bridge inspections, the district's equipment garage, and the permits section (see listing on this page for Gene Layne).​
Jody Hunt, PEPermits SupervisorEngineering Support
Any firm, individual, or government agency that wants access to a road on the state highway system or wants to conduct any type of work activity on the right of way must obtain a permit. Major permitting items include: entrances, altering or replacing existing  drainage facilities, plantings on right of way, fence replacement, tree trimming/cutting, use of roadside chemicals, airspace usage, school site agreements, and such things as fairs, parades, festivals, banners, and welcome signs.​
Terry TackettHighway Safety Coordinator
Terry works with the Cabinet's Office of Highway Safety to implement activities in the counties of District 12. You may contact her if your organization or school would like to host a highway safety event or activity such as a Seat Belt Survey, Child Safety Seat Inspection, Ghost Out, Mock Crash, or Judgment Day. She can arrange visits to your school or business by Vince & Larry, Buckle Up Bear, the Rollover Simulator, Distracted Driving Simulator, or the 3D Simulator. She also handles placement of the district's radar trailers.
109 Loraine Street PikevilleKY41501KY8:00 a.m.-4:30 p.m. EST, M-F(606) 433-7791(606) 433-7765<a href="mailto:shantana.woodward@ky.gov">mailto:shantana.woodward@ky.gov</a>https://www.google.com/maps/place/109+Loraine+St,+Pikeville,+KY+41501/@37.4829909,-82.5376713,17z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m5!3m4!1s0x88456b63e30cc593:0xb6407e37f576c5bb!8m2!3d37.4829867!4d-82.5354826http://facebook.com/KYTCDistrict1212http://twitter.com/KYTCDistrict12
​This page is maintained by sara.george@ky.gov, who may be contacted to make corrections or changes.

Follow Us