
Driving under the influence (DUI) is illegal nationwide; however, according to the  
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, on average, one person is killed every 
53 minutes in a drunken driving-related crash.  In Kentucky, approximately 17 percent 
of overall highway fatalities are caused by a drunken driver. 

DUI laws 
 

.08 Alcohol Concentration 
 

 Alcohol concentration means either grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters 
of blood or grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath. 

 

 A person’s alcohol concentration can be measured through a blood 
test (BAC) or through a   breath test (BRAC).  If the test measures .08 
or above, the person is legally impaired. 

 
Zero Tolerance  
 

 It is illegal for persons under 21 to drive with a BAC of .02 or higher. 
 
High BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) 
 

 High BAC refers to a driver with a BAC of .15 or higher at the time of the arrest. 
 
Open Container 
 

 It is illegal for occupants to have an open container of alcohol in the vehicle, preventing a 
driver from passing the alcohol to a friend or putting it in the back seat  when pulled over. 

 
Repeat Offender 
 

 Enhanced penalties for repeat offenders (two or more impaired driving offenses). 
 
Brianna Taylor Act 
 

 Expands the “look-back” period for previous DUI convictions to ten years.  Previously, the 
“look-back” period was five years. 

 

 Allows a jury to hear about prior DUI convictions and impose stiffer penalties. 
 

 Signed into law April 9, 2016. 
 

Ignition Interlock 
 

 Requires repeat DUI offenders to blow into an ignition interlock device to start the vehicle.  
 

 The vehicle will not start if the person’s blood-alcohol concentration exceeds a .02 level.  
 

 First-time DUI offenders are not required to have the device installed unless there is an  
aggravating circumstance, such as speeding or driving drunk with a child in the car. 
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Drunken driving crashes are 100 percent preventable.  If you plan on drinking 
alcohol, plan for a designated driver.  Alcohol not only dangerously impairs 
your driving skills—it impairs you judgment.  Do not wait until you’ve been 
drinking to find a sober driver.   



Kentucky Transportation Cabinet 
Office of Highway Safety 

For additional information: 
 Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility:  www.responsibility.org 
 Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD):  www.madd.org 
 NHTSA Stop Impaired Driving Program:  www.nhtsa.gov/drivesober 

Definition of a drink 
 

 A 12-ounce beer or wine cooler 
 A 5-ounce glass of wine 

 A straight or mixed drink made with  
1.5 ounces of 80-proof liquor 

 A straight or mixed drink made with  
1 ounce of 100-proof liquor 

 A shot of any straight liquor 

Definition of  
binge drinking 

 
 

 Four or more drinks in a sitting for women 
 

 Five or more drinks in a sitting for men 

The metabolism of alcohol takes place in the liver.  The body can burn approximately one-half 
ounce of alcohol in one hour.  The liver eliminates approximately 90 percent of the alcohol from 
the body.  The rest is eliminated through the lungs, perspiration, and urine.  A cold shower or 
cup of coffee will not sober you up.  The only thing that works is time!   

 

Tips to prevent drunken driving 
 

 Plan a way to get home safely before you start drinking and leave your keys at home. 
 

 Use a taxi, public transportation or ride-booking program, or call a sober friend or family  
member.   
 

 If you see a drunken driver, safely pull off the road and call law enforcement.   
 

 Before you start driving, program the Kentucky State Police Hotline into your cell phone (1-800-
222-555) 

highwaysafety.ky.gov  
502-564-1438 or 1-888-374-8768 

Did you know? 
 

 IMPAIRED: Your ability to think clearly and react appropriately isn’t fully functional. 
 

 DRUNK: Visibly impaired, such as staggering or slurring your speech. 
 

 INTOXICATED:  A legal term, reflecting the amount of alcohol in a person’s blood. 
 

 You can be IMPAIRED by alcohol or drugs long before you become INTOXICATED or DRUNK. 
 

 The American Medical Association says the ability to drive is IMPAIRED at .04 or .05 BAC.  At low  
levels of INTOXICATION you can “feel” more competent to drive than you did before you started  
drinking.  This is a false security. 


