2021 DRIVE SOBER LABOR DAY Talking Points

[bookmark: OLE_LINK5][bookmark: OLE_LINK6]The Labor Day Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over high-visibility enforcement campaign runs from August 18 through September 6, 2021. 
Funding is provided by a federal grant through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
While law enforcement officers patrol for impaired drivers year-round, NHTSA says impaired driving-related crashes tend to increase during the Labor Day holiday period.
Prevention:
Make safe choices each and every time you get behind the wheel.
[bookmark: _GoBack]Alcohol and/or drugs not only impair your driving skills – it impairs your judgment – so don’t wait until you’re impaired to find a sober driver. 
If you plan to drink alcohol, make sure you plan for a designated driver. 
Drunken-driving crashes are 100 percent preventable if you celebrate responsibly.  
Report any impaired drivers that you see. Safely pull off the road and contact law enforcement:
· Before you start driving, program Kentucky State Police hotline into your cell phone (1-800-222-5555).

Remember that your best defense against an impaired driver is to wear your seat belt!

Kentucky Statistics for 2019-2020:
According to the KOHS, over the past two years, there were more than 9,600 total crashes involving an impaired driver in Kentucky, resulting in more than 4,600 injuries and 327 deaths. 

Over the past two years, during the Labor Day holiday weekend, there were 103 crashes involving an impaired driver, resulting in 64 injuries and two deaths. 
According to NHTSA, on average, one person is killed every 52 minutes in a drunken-driving crash in the United States. 
Motorcycle riders involved in fatal crashes had higher percentages of alcohol impairment than any other type of motor vehicle driver: 
· 14% for motorcycle riders
· 12% for light-truck drivers
· 11% for passenger cars
·  4% for drivers of large trucks.



Drunken Driving Comes at a Cost

Drunken driving can cost you your life, but it can also cost you financially: 

· If you’re caught drinking and driving, you could face jail time. Imagine trying to explain that to your place of employment if you’re unable to report to the office. 
· On average, a DUI can set you back $10,000 in attorney fees, fines, court costs, lost time at work, higher insurance rates, car towing and repairs, and more.
· In addition to the human toll drunk driving takes on our country, the financial impact is devastating as well.  According to NHTSA, the economic cost of impaired-driving crashes is estimated at more than $44 billion annually.
· Economic Costs include wage loss, medical expense, administration costs, property damage, and employer costs.


Keep Kentucky’s streets safe as you celebrate. Don’t drink and drive!
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