2020 DRIVE SOBER
Talking Points
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Labor Day Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over high-visibility enforcement campaign, which runs from August 21 through September 7, 2020. 
The enforcement campaign coincides with the Labor Day holiday weekend, which is one of the deadliest times of the year in terms of drunken-driving deaths. 
Funding is provided by a federal grant through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
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Alcohol and/or drugs not only impair your driving skills – it impairs your judgment – so don’t wait until you’re impaired to find a sober driver. 
If you plan to drink alcohol, make sure you plan for a designated driver. 
Drunken-driving crashes are 100 percent preventable if you celebrate responsibly.  
With all the sober ride options available, there is never an excuse for driving impaired. 
Report any impaired drivers that you see. Safely pull off the road and contact law enforcement:
· Before you start driving, program Kentucky State Police hotline into your cell phone (1-800-222-5555).

Remember that your best defense against an impaired driver is to wear your seat belt!

Kentucky Statistics for 2019:
There were more than 4,700 total collisions involving an impaired driver in Kentucky last year, resulting in more than 2,200 injuries and 138 deaths. 

During the Labor Day holiday weekend, there were 56 crashes involving an impaired driver, resulting in 30 injuries and two deaths.
Twelve percent of the total fatalities were due to a drunken driver.
Motorcycle riders involved in fatal crashes had higher percentages of alcohol impairment than any other type of motor vehicle driver: 
· 14% for motorcycle riders
· 12% for light-truck drivers
· 11% for passenger cars
·  4% for drivers of large trucks).

According to NHTSA, on average, one person is killed every 50 minutes in a drunken-driving crash in the United States. 


Drunken Driving Comes at a Cost

Drunken driving can cost you your life, but it can also cost you financially: 

· If you’re caught drinking and driving, you could face jail time. Imagine trying to explain that to your place of employment if you’re unable to report to the office. 
· On average, a DUI can set you back $10,000 in attorney fees, fines, court costs, lost time at work, higher insurance rates, car towing and repairs, and more.
· In addition to the human toll drunk driving takes on our country, the financial impact is devastating as well.  According to NHTSA, based on 2010 numbers (the most recent year for which cost data is available), impaired-driving crashes costs the United States $44 billion annually.


Keep Kentucky’s streets safe as you celebrate. Don’t drink and drive!
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