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COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY
OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

Steven L .Beshear
G ovemor

Dear Kentucky Driver,

We are privileged each time we get behind the wheel of a vehicle and drive
down one of Kentucky’s scenic back roads or expansive highways. Along with
this privilege comes a great responsibility — something we should keep in the
forefront of our minds as we traverse the Commonwealth.

This manual is created to give you the proper foundation for carefully and
responsibly taking on your role as a new driver. Study it well and you will be
on your way to an enjoyable and safe driving experience.

Remember to always wear your seatbelt, require the same of passengers and
make sure that all children are secured in a federally approved child restraint
seat. Obey Kentucky’s traffic laws. They are on the books to protect the safety
and well being of everyone who travels throughout the Bluegrass State.

Best wishes for a safe and pleasurable driving experience.
Sincerely,

PN N

Steven L. Beshear

Governor
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COMMONW EALTH OF KENTUCKY
KENTUCKY STATE POLICE

Rodney Brewer
Commissioner

Dear Kentucky Diriver,

The Kentucky Drivers Manual has been prepared by the Kentucky State
Police to provide you with the knowledge and basic skills to become a safe and
courteous driver. By thoroughly studying this manual, you will develop good driving
habits and a better understanding of the traffic laws of Kentucky. It should be your goal
to learn everything you can before starting your driving career. By committing yourself
to this goal, you will in turn make the roadways of Kentucky safer for everyone.

| would like to remind you that Kentucky law requires the use of safety belts and
approved child restraint seats. These laws were passed to protect you and your
passengers and they are strictly enforced. | sincerely hope your driving experience is
enjoyable and that you commit to making our roadways safe by following the traffic
laws of Kentucky.

Wishing you the very best with your new driving privilege.

Sincerely,

Rodée%%rewer

Commissioner
Kentucky State Police
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GRADUATED LICENSING LAWS FOR NEW DRIVERS
Effective October 1, 2006. — The Graduated Licensing Program affects
license holders under the age of 18. The Graduated Licensing Program
requires the following:

PERMIT PHASE

Driver must be 16 years old to apply for permit.

Parent/Guardian must sign application for permit.

Drivers must have 180-day instruction period after receiving permit.
Permit holder must drive with a licensed driver 21 years old or older.
Permit holder under the age of 18 may not drive between the hours of
midnight and 6:00 a.m. unless the person can demonstrate good cause for
driving.

Parent/Guardian must certify 60 hours practice driving (10 hours must be
at night) before road (skills) test can be administered.

Documentation forms for this requirement found in the back of this
manual. This documentation is required before the skills test.

Passenger restriction — limited to 1 (one) unrelated person under 20 years
of age.

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited.

A driver under the age of 18 who accumulates more than six points may
have driving privilege suspended.

No serious moving violations are allowed for those under 18 during the
permit phase. If violation(s) occur, the applicant’s 180 day waiting
period begins again from the date of the violation.

INTERMEDIATE PHASE

Must pass driving skills test after 180-day permit period.

Kentucky State Police License Examiner will place intermediate sticker
onto the permit when applicant passes the skills test.

Intermediate driver under the age of 18 may not drive between midnight
and 6:00 a.m. unless the person can demonstrate good cause for driving.
Passenger restriction — limited to 1 (one) unrelated person under 20 years
of age.

Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is prohibited.

A driver under the age of 18 who accumulates more than six points may
have driving privilege suspended.

INTERMEDIATE PHASE CONTINUED

No serious moving violations are allowed for intermediate drivers under
18. If violations occur, the applicant’s 180 day waiting period for license
issuance begins again from the date of the violation.
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ALL INTERMEDIATE DRIVERS MUST COMPLETE A 4-HOUR
SAFETY CLASS BEFORE GETTING A FULL LICENSE. THE GOAL
OF THE 4-HOUR CLASS IS TO ENSURE A MINIMUM LEVEL OF
KNOWLEDGE ABOUT DRIVER LICENSE LAWS AND TO REIN-
FORCE SAFE DRIVING HABITS.

Intermediate drivers who take a high school Driver Education Course or a
course from an approved private driving school will not be required to take
the 4-hour class offered by the Transportation Cabinet.

* Driver’s License will be issured upon meeting all qualifications from

permit and intermediate phases.

* All drivers under the age of 21 are subject to “Zero Alcohol Tolerance.”

For more information regarding the Graduated Licensing Program, call the
Graduated Licensing Office at (502) 564-6800, ext. 5363, or (859) 622-2446.

The seat belt law is now a primary law in Kentucky. You may be stopped
and given a ticket by a law enforcement officer if you are observed not

wearing your seat belt.
BUCKLE UP! IT’S THE LAW!

THE LICENSING PROCESS
To be eligible to apply for a Kentucky Operator’s License, Motorcycle
License, or Moped License, you must have reached your sixteenth birthday,
and your driving privilege must not have been withdrawn in this state or
any other state. You will begin the process in the Circuit Court Clerk’s
Office in your county of residence.

When applying for an instruction permit or license for the first time, you
must present the following:
* Social Security Card.
* Birth Certificate.
* For applicants under the age of 18, the signature and license or social secu-
rity number of parent or legal guardian must be listed on the application.
* No Pass/No Driver Form (See page 6 of this manual for details).

These rules and regulations have been established by the Kentucky
Transportation Cabinet. The Circuit Court Clerk is required to follow these
rules. It is his responsibility to determine that the application for a driver’s
license is complete and accurate and that the applicant meets the require-
ments to apply for a Kentucky license.

After the Clerk has prepared the application, the Kentucky State Police
License Examiner will administer the tests. You will be given a vision-



screening test to determine if you meet minimum visual requirements and
a written knowledge test of the information contained in this manual. If you
fail the written test, you may return the next day that tests are given in your
county. Applicants may take the written test a total of six times. If you fail
the written test six times, you must wait six months before trying again.

An applicant for a moped license, who has no other type of license, must
take only the written test and vision screening test in order for a license to
be issued. A road test is not required for a moped license.

After passing the required tests, you will return to the Circuit Court Clerk’s
Office where you will be issued an instruction permit. This permit is valid
for one year and may be renewed. If the permit is not renewed within one
year of the expiration date of the previous permit, the written and vision
tests must be repeated.

You may apply for the road skills test 180 days from the issue date of the
first permit, if you are under the age of 21. Permit holders ages 16 and 17,
must meet the Graduated Driver License Program requirements listed on
pages 1 and 2, before a road test will be administered. If you are age 21 or
over, you must hold your permit 30 days before being eligible to take the
road test. Please check with the local Examiner or Circuit Court Clerk for
the testing availability in your county.

If you fail the road test, you are required by law to wait seven days before
another test can be administered. If you fail the road test six times, you
must wait six months before another test will be given. You will then have
only two attempts to pass the test.

Once you have passed the road skills test, the Examiner will record the
results and send you back to the Circuit Clerk’s Office for your license to
be issued. Drivers under age 18 will receive intermediate status after suc-
cessful completion of road test.

Your driver’s license record is maintained by the Transportation Cabinet,
Division of Driver Licensing, in Frankfort. This agency keeps track of all
traffic citations, accidents, suspensions, reinstatements, and assignments to
traffic school. They alone have control of your driving file. Any questions
concerning licensing qualifications or your driving record should be
directed to that agency.

Driving is an enormous responsibility. In your hands you place your life
and the lives of all drivers and pedestrians around you. Please study this
manual, and have a safe driving career:
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This manual will give you information on safe driving rules and practices
to help you become a safer driver. The information will help you pass the
driver test. The Kentucky Driver Manual is also available on the Internet:

Kentucky State Police Web Site:
www.kentuckystatepolice.org

Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Web Site:
www.kytc.state.ky.us/DRLIC/
www.transportation.ky.gov

CHANGE OF ADDRESS OR NAME

If you change your address or name for any reason, you must obtain a
duplicate license within 10 days. You may be cited by a police officer for
not changing your address or name. If your name change is a result of mar-
riage or divorce, please bring the proper legal documents showing proof.
Contact your Circuit Court Clerk’s Office to make these changes.

RENEWAL OR DUPLICATE LICENSE

Your permit or license is valid from the date issued through the expiration
date shown on the permit or license. All licenses issued after July, 2000,
will expire 30 days from the license holder’s birthdate, unless suspended or
revoked. If you are 21 or over, you may renew your license up to six
months before the expiration date by applying in person at your local
Circuit Court Clerk’s Office.

If you lose your license, a duplicate may be obtained by applying at your
local Circuit Clerk’s Office. You must show positive identification, such as
a social security card and a typed proof of residence address, to get a dupli-
cate permit or license.

RESIDENTS SERVING IN THE MILITARY

Residents serving in the military may renew by mail or by personal
designee when, at the time of expiration, they are outside the Common-
wealth of Kentucky. This does not include CDL renewals.

WHY ARE DRIVERS LICENSED?
* To ensure that each driver has the basic skills necessary to be a safe, effi-
cient, and responsible driver.
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WHO NEEDS A KENTUCKY LICENSE?

Any current or new resident of Kentucky who plans to drive a motor
vehicle.

WHO DOES NOT NEED A KENTUCKY DRIVER’S LICENSE?

Any person in the Armed Forces of the United States who has an opera-
tor’s license from the United States, and who is operating an official
vehicle in the course of his service to our country.

Members of the military on active duty and their dependents who hold a
valid license from another state.

Nonresidents working in Kentucky who hold a valid license from
another state.

Full-time students enrolled in school or college with a valid license from
another state.

Operators of road machinery, farm tractors, or other farm implements
being used for the purpose for which they were designed.

WHO MAY NOT HAVE A LICENSE?

Anyone under 16 years of age.

Anyone whose license has been suspended or revoked and not reinstated.
Any person judged by a court to be mentally incompetent.

Anyone who has a physical or mental impairment which makes it unsafe
for him to drive.

Any person who is unable to understand highway warnings or direction
signs in the English language.

WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR OBTAINING A
KENTUCKY LICENSE?

The applicant must be a resident of Kentucky.

Applicants must be at least 16 years of age. (A first-time applicant must
bring his social security card and original or certified copy of his birth
certificate).

A parent or legal guardian must sign the application, if the applicant is
under the age of 18.

Applicants must pass the vision, signs, rules, and road tests.

WHERE DO I GET MY LICENSE?

You must apply at the Circuit Court Clerk’s Office in your county of res-
idence. (For more information regarding testing day(s), you may contact
your local Examiner or Circuit Court Clerk)

5



WHAT MUST I BRING WITH ME TO APPLY FOR A
PERMIT OR LICENSE?
* Your social security card, which has not been laminated.

* An original or certified copy of your birth certificate.

* The parent or legal guardian of applicants under the age of 18 must sign
the application. A legal guardian must have a certified copy of guardian-
ship papers.

* No Pass/No Drive (Form)

For Applicant’s under the age of 18 applying for an instruction permit or
transfer license, a completed school compliance verification form issued
by the public, private or home school the minor is attending must be sub-
mitted to the circuit clerk’s office in accordance with 601 KAR13:070 and
No Pass/No Drive. Loss of license or permit can occur for dropping out of
school or for academic deficiency in accordance with KRS 159.051/601
KAR 13:070.

WHAT WILL THE TEST TO OBTAIN A PERMIT

CONSIST OF?

* A vision examination is required. (Minimum visual acuity of 20/40 is
required, or the applicant will be referred to a vision specialist.)

* A written knowledge test which will contain questions regarding driving
rules, regulations, procedures, and highway signs. You will find all infor-
mation for the test in this manual. Applicants must make a minimum
score of 80% to pass this test.

* Tests can be given orally for applicants who cannot read the English lan-
guage. However, the signs portion of the test must be answered by the
applicant from his own knowledge and understanding.

* Tests in several foreign languages are available.

ARE SPECIALPROGRAMS AVAILABLE?

* A bioptic program with special training provided by the Kentucky
Department for the Blind is available. For further information regarding
this program, call 1-800-895-3863.

WHEN ARE ROAD TESTS GIVEN IN MY COUNTY?

* Please check with your local Examiner or Circuit Court Clerk regarding
the schedule for your county. A complete listing of counties requiring
appointments for road tests are listed in the back of this manual. For
counties that require an appointment, the appointment must be made
before a test will be administered.
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WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR TAKING THE

ROAD TEST?

* A valid Kentucky permit which has been held for 180 days by applicants
under the age of 21 and 30 days by applicants 21 and older. There are no
exceptions to the waiting periods.

* A licensed driver 21 years of age or older must accompany you to the
testing site.

* The vehicle you use for testing must be properly registered, and proof of
liability insurance is required. One of the following will be required as
proof:

1. A proof-of-insurance card furnished by the insurance company.

2. A current insurance policy for that vehicle.

3. Abinder from an insurance agent, in writing, stating that insurance
is in force.

* Drivers under the age of 18 must successfully meet requirements of the
Graduated Driver License Program, on pages 1 and 2, before the road test
is administered.

NOTE: Rental cars must have the driver’s name listed on the rental con-
tract as an operator.

WHAT EQUIPMENT IS REQUIRED FOR MY VEHICLE?
BRAKES. Every motor vehicle, when operated upon a highway, shall be
equipped with brakes adequate to control the movement of, and to stop and
hold, the vehicle. There shall be separate means of applying the brakes,
each of which shall be effective to apply the brakes to at least two wheels.
If the separate means are connected in any way, they shall be so con-
structed that failure of any one part of the operating mechanism shall not
leave the motor vehicle without brakes on at least two wheels.

LIGHTS. Your vehicle must have two headlights and a taillight. Headlights
on high beam must be strong enough to light the road sufficiently to reveal
a person 350 feet ahead. They must not shine a glaring light into the eyes
of an oncoming driver. When approaching an oncoming vehicle at night,
you must use the low beam the last 500 feet before meeting and passing.
When following a vehicle, dim your lights before coming closer than 200
feet of the vehicle in front of you.

The rear light, or taillight, must be red and must be lighted and placed so it
can be seen 500 feet behind your vehicle. A vehicle must also be equipped
with at least one red brake light to the rear. The registration plate must be
illuminated so that the letters and numbers of the plate can be read 50 feet
away at night. 7



All motor vehicles must have a brake light. No person shall operate any
vehicle required by law to be licensed upon a highway unless it is equipped
with a mechanical signal device that would indicate an intention to stop or
suddenly decrease speed by illuminating at least one red light on the rear of
the vehicle.

LICENSE PLATE. The vehicle must be properly registered with the
licensed plate properly displayed and unobstructed. The registration plate
must be illuminated so that the letters and numbers of the plate can be read
50 feet away at night.

WINDSHIELD WIPER. A windshield wiper is required on the driver’s
side of the windshield. The windshield on every motor vehicle shall be
equipped with a device for cleaning rain, snow, or other moisture from the
windshield. The device shall be so constructed as to be controlled by the
operator of the vehicle.

HORN. Every motor vehicle, and bicycle, when in use on a highway, must
be equipped with a horn or other device capable of making an abrupt sound
sufficiently loud to be heard under ordinary traffic conditions. Every per-
son operating an automobile or bicycle shall sound the horn or sound
device when necessary to warn of the approach of his vehicle. Do not use
the horn or sound device unnecessarily.

A MUFFLER must be on the exhaust to reduce noise and annoying smoke,
while protecting the occupants from poisonous fumes.

A REARVIEW MIRROR must be so attached that you can see at least
200 feet to the rear of your car.

STEERING GEAR must be in good condition and not have more than
one-fourth (1/4) turn free play.

SAFETY GLASS is required equipment for all windows on cars manufac-
tured after 1968.

TURN SIGNALS. Mechanical turn signals are required equipment on
your vehicle and must be in working order.

SAFETY BELTS AND SHOULDER BELTS are required for all passenger
vehicles built after December 31, 1967. Light trucks and multi-purpose vehi-
cles are required to have safety belts if built after December 31, 1971. If all
passenger safety belts are not in working order, the test will not be given.



WHAT EQUIPMENT MUST I NOT HAVE ON MY
VEHICLE?

There are certain items that are unlawful to place on a motor vehicle. When
taking the driver’s test, your vehicle must not have:

Any red or blue light showing to the front. Green lights are also unde-
sirable.

Any siren, bell, or whistle.

A muffler cutout.

Signs, posters, or stickers on the windshield or any other window in the
car, unless required by law.

More than three extra driving lights or fog lights.

Vehicles equipped with a louvered rear window must have sideview mir-
rors. A person shall not operate any motor vehicle required to be regis-
tered in the Commonwealth upon any public highway, road, or street, on
which vehicle the rear window is composed of, covered by, or treated
with any material which has the effect of making the window nontrans-
parent, unless the vehicle is equipped with side mirrors on both sides.
Heavily-tinted windows in excess of legal standards. A person shall not
operate any motor vehicle, required to be registered in the Common-
wealth, on any public highway, road, or street on which vehicle the side
wings and side windows on either side forward of or adjacent to the
operator’s seat are composed of, covered by, or treated with any sun-
screening material or other product or covering which has the effect of
making the window nontransparent or which would alter the window’s
color, increase its reflectivity, or reduce its light transmittance, except as
expressly permitted. A sun-screening material may be applied to such
windows if, when tested on one-eighth (1/8) inch clear glass, the mate-
rial has a total solar reflectance of visible light of not more than twenty-
five (25%) percent as measured on the nonfilm side and a light trans-
mittance of at least thirty-five (35%) percent in the visible light range.

WHAT WILL BE INSPECTED ON MY VEHICLE?

Each applicant must demonstrate that he knows how to operate the fol-
lowing on his vehicle:
* Headlights.
e Dimmer Switch.
* Horn.
* Windshield Wipers.
e Turn Signals.
* Emergency Brake.
* Emergency Flashers.
* Brake Lights.



WHAT THE ROAD TEST WILL CONSIST OF?

* The Examiner will inspect the vehicle and examine insurance documents.

* Rental vehicles are allowed only if the applicant’s name appears on the
rental contract as an operator of the vehicle.

e An Examiner will accompany you on the road test and will occupy the pas-
senger side of the front seat. Therefore, the passenger compartment, seat,
and floor area must be clean or the vehicle may be rejected. Both driver
and Examiner must wear seat belts, if the vehicle was factory equipped
with seat belts. The seat belts must be clean and in working order.

* Applicants will be required to drive in traffic, encountering normal situ-
ations. The Examiner will not play tricks during the road test, and you
will not be required to do anything unlawful or illegal.

WHAT WILL BE SCORED ON THE ROAD TEST?

You must be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of

age. This licensed driver will not be permitted to ride with you during the

road test. He must wait to drive the motor vehicle or ride with you if you
do not pass the road test.

 The test will consist of stops, backing, turning the car around, stopping
and starting on a hill, parallel parking, intersection approaches, clutch
use (if vehicle is so equipped), speed, turns, lane use, right-of-way use,
and overall vehicle control.

* Any collision, traffic violation, or dangerous act may result in auto-
matic failure, and the test will not be completed.

* Failure to follow the Examiner’s instructions two times during the test
will result in being disqualified.

» The applicant will be given a score sheet at the completion of the test,
indicating whether he passed or failed. A minimum score of 80% out of
100% is required for passing the test.

* You will be advised whether you passed or failed, but will not be pro-
vided with a numerical score.

* Should you not pass the road test, you must wait at least seven days
before taking the test again. Practice during this time is recommended.

HOW DO I TRANSFER MY OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE TO

KENTUCKY?

* Apply at your local Circuit Court Clerk’s Office (within 30 days of
establishing residence).

* Present a social security card and typed proof of residence.

 If the applicant’s out-of-state license is expired at least one day, the
written and vision tests will be required.
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IAM NOT A U.S. CITIZEN. HOW DO I OBTAIN A
KENTUCKY LICENSE?
* Applicants who have a Permanent Resident or Resident Alien Card will
begin the process by applying at their local Circuit Court Clerk’s Office.
* All other non-U.S. applicants will begin the process by visiting their
local Department of Transportation (DOT) Field Office. Applicable doc-
uments will be examined and, if documents are in order, permission will
be granted to receive testing.

COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE
In 1990, in an effort to improve highway safety, the Kentucky General
Assembly passed the Kentucky Commercial Driver License Act. This law
requires Kentucky to implement the Federal Commercial Motor Vehicle
Safety Act of 1986. The purpose of this act is to reduce or prevent com-
mercial vehicle collisions, fatalities, and injuries by:

¢ Permitting commercial drivers to hold only one (1) license.

* Disqualifying commercial drivers who have committed certain serious

traffic violations.
» Strengthening commercial driver licensing and testing standards.
* Sharing conviction and licensing information with other states.

Effective June 26, 2007, as defined in KRS 281A.010, the use of cellular
telephone is prohibited when operating a school bus to transport one (1) or
more children.

One effect of this act now requires Kentucky to have a classified license
system. Those persons requiring a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)
will hold a Class A, B, or C license.

COMMERCIAL DRIVERS

Commercial drivers are persons who operate commercial motor vehicles
whether they are employed to do so or not. This means the Commercial Driver’s
License requirements apply to volunteer drivers, such as church bus drivers,
private and public school bus drivers, mechanics, salesmen, etc. Commercial
drivers must have one of the following of the three classes of CDL:

* Class A-Any combination of vehicles with a gross combination weight
rating (GCWR) of 26,001 pounds or more, provided that the gross
vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of the vehicle(s) being towed is in
excess of 10,000 pounds.

* Class B-Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds
or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds
GVWR.
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e Class C-Any single vehicle less than 26,001 pounds, which is
placarded for hazardous materials or designed to transport more than
sixteen (16) people including the driver.

WHO DOES NOT NEED A COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S
LICENSE (CDL)?
* Operators of passenger trucks and cars, motorcycles, and mopeds.
» Non-civilian operators of military vehicles owned and operated by the
military.
* Operators of emergency vehicles, such as firefighters.
¢ Operators of recreational vehicles.
e A driver of vehicles used exclusively in farm-to-market agricultural
transportation, owned and operated by the farmer or his employees,
and used within 150 miles of the point of origin.

WHERE CAN I OBTAIN A CDL MANUAL?

A copy of Kentucky’s CDL Manual is available from your local Circuit
Clerk or on the Internet at www.kentuckystatepolice.org. You can also call
800-542-5990 for more CDL information.

NOTE: AN OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE ISSUED TO A PERSON
UNDER THE AGE OF 16 1S NOT VALID ON KENTUCKY STREETS
AND HIGHWAYS.

RULES OF THE ROAD

Without traffic laws, rules, and controls, travel by a motor vehicle would
be unsafe and impractical. Drivers are tested and licensed to operate motor
vehicles in an effort to make travel safe for everyone.

This section provides you with information on:

* Control of Traffic at Intersections * Use of Lanes
Traffic Signals Through Driving
Traffic Signs Passing
Right-of-Way Laws for Turning

* Parking

CONTROL OF TRAFFIC AT INTERSECTIONS
An intersection is any place where two roads meet. At an intersection there
may be traffic signals, signs, or right-of-way rules to control traffic.

12



TRAFFIC SIGNALS

The three main colors that guide traffic are:

RED means stop means WARNING
GREEN means GO, if safe

RED: A red light means “stop” behind a crosswalk or stop line until the
green light appears. You may turn right after stopping if there is no
approaching traffic, unless a sign is posted prohibiting such right turns.
Even though the light is red, a turn is permitted from a one-way street into
the nearest lane of another one-way
street running in the direction of that
turn.

A yellow light means the

traffic signal is about to turn red. Stop if
you can do so safely. A vehicle may
clear an intersection on a red light, if the
vehicle entered the intersection while
the signal was yellow; but it is against
the law to enter an intersection after the
light turns red.
GREEN: If the way is clear, after
yielding the right-of-way to other
vehicles and pedestrians lawfully within
the intersection, you may go straight or
turn left or right, unless such turns are
prohibited. Left turns on green must
yield to through traffic coming from the
opposite direction.

FLASHING LIGHTS

A flashing yellow light means you must slow down and
watch for others. It is found at intersections, construction
areas, and on some vehicles, like tow trucks.

A flashing red light means you must come to a full stop
and proceed only when the way is clear.

Two flashing red lights mark a railroad crossing. Stop
and proceed only after the lights stop flashing and you
determine no train is approaching. The familiar cross-
buck sign near the tracks is a regulatory sign that means
the same as a yield sign.
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LIGHTED ARROWS
Some intersection traffic lights have lighted arrows in addition to the reg-
ular lights.

A green arrow means you may go in the direction of the
arrow, if you are in the proper lane.
(]

A flashing yellow arrow means you may proceed with cau-
tion in the direction of the arrow.

A green arrow pointed upward means you may go “straight
ahead.”

until it turns green.

A red arrow means no turning in the direction of the arrow, E

When there is more than one traffic light, obey the one that is over your
lane.

TURNS ON RED LIGHTS

RIGHT TURNS: If not prohibited by signs, and you are in the proper
lane, you must first STOP, and then turn right when the way is clear of
vehicle or pedestrian traffic.

LEFT TURNS: Left turns on Red are permitted ONLY when turning from
a one-way street onto a one-way street. You must first stop then turn left
when the way is clear of vehicle or pedestrian traffic.
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TRAFFIC SIGNS
A stop sign is red with white letters and has eight sides. It

means you must come to a complete stop in a safe position
with regard to other traffic, then proceed when the way is
clear. Stop at the pedestrian crossing area or stop line, if
there is one; otherwise stop before moving into the inter-
section. When visibility is obstructed, a second stop may
be necessary before entering the intersection.

A yield sign is shaped like a triangle and is red and white.
It means you should slow down and yield to traffic on the
road you are entering or crossing.

MINOR INTERSECTIONS
Exit ramps and the beginning of one-way streets are also intersections and
often have these signs:

This sign tells you that you are
going in wrong direction.

This sign tells you that you cannot enter a street or roadway.

A red slash inside a red circle means that you cannot do some-
thing. For example, this sign means that you cannot legally or
safely turn in the direction the arrow is pointing.

®
L_ J This sign means you cannot make a “U” turn.

Upon approaching an intersection where a police officer is directing
traffic, do what the officer instructs you to do regardless of traffic-control
devices or signals.

@ O @
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RIGHT-OF-WAY LAWS
Where there are no signs, symbols, or police to tell you what to do, there are
special right-of-way laws to follow.

By law, drivers must yield to pedestrians under the following conditions:

* When pedestrians are in a crosswalk or at an intersection and there is no
traffic light.

* When turning a corner and pedestrians are crossing with the light.

Other special right-of-way laws to follow are:

* Drivers turning left must yield to oncoming vehicles that are going straight
or turning right.

* Drivers entering a traffic circle or roundabout must yield right-of-way to
drivers already in the circle.

* Drivers on a minor road must yield to drivers on a main road.

* Ata4-way, 3-way, or 2-way stop, the driver reaching the intersection and
stopping first should go first.

* When two cars reach an uncontrolled intersection at the same time, the
car on the right should have the right-of-way.

USE OF LANES
Smooth driving allows you to keep more distance between yourself and
other drivers and also helps improve fuel economy.

If there are three or more lanes in one direction, the middle lane or lanes
are for through traffic. The left lane is for drivers who want to pass or turn
left. The right lane is used by drivers who want to go slower or who are
entering or turning right. If a road has only two lanes in one direction, the
right lane generally has the smoothest traffic flow, with the left lane being
reserved for the passing of other vehicles. Remaining in the left lane on a
limited access highway is illegal.

LANES FOR PASSING

In general, you should pass on the left. Passing on the right can be danger-
ous since other drivers do not expect it. Vehicles on the right side are also
more difficult to see. The operator of a vehicle may overtake and pass
another vehicle upon the right only under conditions permitting such
movements safely. Such movement shall not be made by driving off the
roadway, unless the vehicle being passed comes to a complete stop and
such movement may be made safely.
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LANES FOR TURNING

When turning into another street, turn into the lane nearest to you. If you
are turning left from a street with two or more lanes, turn from the lane
nearest the center line. If you are turning right, turn from the lane nearest
the curb.

If you need to change to another lane, do so only after you have finished
your turn and when the traffic is clear.

If you have already started through an intersection when the light changes,
keep going. If you have started to make a turn, follow through. Last-
second changes can cause collisions.

If you miss your turn, go on to the next intersection and work your way
back to where you want to go.

SIGNS AND ROAD MARKINGS

Many streets have signs that say what each of the lanes are to be used for:
(a) vehicles in the left lane must turn left, (b) vehicles in the left lane may
turn left or go straight, (¢) vehicles in the center lane must go straight, (d)
vehicles in the right lane may go straight or turn right, (e) vehicles in right
lane must turn right. Similar markings are often painted on the highway.

" 1 o

ONLY ONLY ONLY
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TURNABOUT
A turnabout is a legal way to turn the vehicle around. It is also sometimes
called a three-point turn. The steps of a turnabout are as follows:
* Make sure your car can be seen for 500 feet in either direction.
* Stop just beyond a side street or driveway on the right.
* Check your rearview mirror to make sure no one is approaching
from behind you.
* Signal before backing into the street.
* Back into the right lane, then signal before pulling back out when
safe to do so.
You should never make a “U” turn or a turnabout on any curve or near the
top of a hill.

-
.
(AR AT Y
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ROUNDABOUTS AND TRAFFIC CIRCLES

A traffic circle is a circular one-way road at an intersection of several
roads that facilitate an uninterrupted flow of traffic. In order to properly
maneuver around the circle, drive slowly to the right of the circle through
the intersection.

L]
Traffic Circle Warning Sign Traffic Circle Diagram

A roundabout is similar to a traffic circle. However, a roundabout
includes yield signs at all approaches to the intersection, and motorists
actually travel around the circle until they reach their exit. A roundabout
is typically bigger than a traffic circle. The following instructions should
be followed when using a roundabout:

e When approaching the roundabout, reduce your speed and always
keep to the right of the splitter island on the approach to the round-
about.

* When entering the roundabout, yield to traffic circulating from the
left. Enter the roundabout when clear.

* Within the roundabout, do not stop except to avoid a collision. Keep
to the right of the central island and travel in a counterclockwise
direction.

* When exiting the roundabout, indicate your exit by using the right
turn signal.
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PARKING

Make sure you do not get in the way of traffic when you park on a public

road.

* Move as far away from traffic as possible. If there is a roadside
shoulder, pull as far onto it as you can. If there is a curb, park as close
to it as you can.

* If you are parked parallel on the right-hand side of the street, give a left
turn signal and look over your left shoulder before pulling out into traf-
fic. If you are parked parallel on the left-hand side of a one-way street,
give a right turn signal and look over your right shoulder before moving
into traffic.

STEPS IN PARALLEL PARKING

,"—P
L]

P

/.

)
L

)

A

——=3
s 1]

1

Stop smoothly two to
three feet away from the
car you will be parking
behind, and give your turn

2

Turn the steering wheel
sharply right and back
slowly toward the center
of the car behind you.

3

When clear of the car
ahead, turn wheels sharp
left, and back slowly to
the car behind.

4

Turn the wheel sharp right
and pull toward the curb
in the center of the park-
ing space.

signal for the direction
you will be backing.

* Make sure your vehicle cannot move. Set your parking brake and shift
to “park” (or reverse in a manual shift car).

 If you are parked on a hill, turn your wheels so that your vehicle will
touch the curb if the vehicle begins moving. If there is no curb, turn the
wheels so the vehicle will go off the road should it roll.

* It is safest to get out of your vehicle on the curb side. If you have to use
the street side, check traffic before getting out.

20



it

up
HILL
with
curb

Down Hill

TURN WHEELS TURN WHEELS
TO CURB FROM CURB

TURN WHEELS
TO RIGHT

* The law requires you to turn off the engine and remove the key when
you leave a vehicle. Always lock your vehicle when leaving it, even if
you are only going to be away for a short period of time.

HANDICAPPED PARKING

* Unauthorized parking in designated handicapped parking areas is
unlawful and is punishable by fine. Persons requiring or needing handi-
capped parking privileges should apply to the County Clerk’s Office for

special decals or plates.

Parking only for vehicles displaying an official permit
< and transporting a disabled person.

SEEING WELL

Most of what you do in driving is a reaction to what you see. To be a good

driver, you need to see well.
Seeing well means:

* Knowing Where to Look .
* Looking ahead .
* Taking in the whole scene

* Looking to the side .
* Looking behind

* Checking the speedometer .
¢ Backing .
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LOOKING AHEAD

In order to avoid last-second moves, a driver needs to look far enough
ahead to see things early. One of the most common mistakes drivers make
is looking directly in front of the vehicle instead of far enough ahead.

Good drivers focus their eyes at least 10 to 15 seconds ahead. To deter-
mine how far a ten-second interval for a certain speed is, select a marker
such as a sign, a bridge, or tree, and count “one-thousand one, one-thou-
sand two,” etc. When you reach “one-thousand ten,” you have driven for
10 seconds.

TAKING IN THE WHOLE SCENE

Looking ahead does not mean looking at the middle of the road. It means

taking in the entire scene, the sides of the road as well. “Scanning” the

roadside helps you to see:

* Vehicles and people that may be in the road by the time you reach
them.

* Signs warning of conditions ahead.

* Signs giving you information about places ahead and how to reach them.

Being alert and always looking far ahead reduces your chances of having
a collision and increases the time you will have for decision-making and
reactions.

LOOKING TO THE SIDE

Any time you come to a place where others may cross or enter your path,
you should look to the sides to make sure it is safe to proceed. These
places include intersections, crosswalks, railroad crossings, parking lots,
school areas, parks, playgrounds, shopping centers, etc.

INTERSECTIONS
Following are some rules for any time you approach an intersection:
* Look both ways.
* Look to the left first, since traffic coming from the left is close to you;
then look to the right.
» Take one more look to the left before you pull out, just in case there
is something you did not see the first time.
* Do not rely on traffic signals.
* At an intersection, look both ways, even if other traffic has a red light
or a stop sign. Someone may disobey either one.
* Make sure you have a good view.
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e If your view of a cross street is blocked by a building or a row of
parked vehicles, edge forward slowly until you can see.

« If traffic in one lane is blocking your view of another lane, wait until
it clears. If you try to look by placing the front of your vehicle into
the other lane, you may get hit.

PEDESTRIAN/CROSSWALKS

Crosswalks are special areas set aside for people to cross the street.
Usually they are marked with yellow or white lines and have fluorescent
yellow-green warning signs.

PEDESTRIAN SCHOOL
CROSSING CROSSING

Most crosswalks are located at intersections; however, some are located in
the middle of the block, especially in cities and towns. In turning a corner,
watch for people who are about to cross the street you are turning in to.
Remember, if you have a green light, the light is also green for them.

When traffic-control signals are not in place or in operation, the operator
of a vehicle shall yield the right-of-way, slowing down or stopping if need
be to so yield, to a pedestrian crossing the roadway upon which the
vehicle is traveling, or when the pedestrian is approaching so closely from
the opposite half of the roadway as to be in danger.

Every pedestrian crossing a roadway at a point other than within a marked
crosswalk or within an unmarked crosswalk at an intersection shall yield
the right-of-way to all vehicles upon the roadway.

The law requires drivers to yield to pedestrians in the crosswalk.

RAILROAD CROSSINGS

Approach a railroad crossing with caution. You are far
more likely to die in a collision between a motor vehicle
and a train than you are in any other type of vehicular colli-
sion.

The familiar round, yellow sign with the black “RR,” and/or “RR” painted
on the pavement are advanced-warning signs indicating the road crosses
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railroad tracks ahead. The crossbuck sign at the crossing means the driver
must yield to oncoming trains.

At crossings marked with automatic flasher units or automatic crossing
gates, drivers must stop if the lights are flashing or the gates are lowered, and
remain stopped until the lights stop flashing and the gates are raised. At
crossings, which have the standard octagonal red and white stop sign, drivers
must stop and proceed only when they determine no train is approaching.

Look both ways as you approach a railroad crossing. You must yield the

right-of-way to the train or stop if the lights are flashing or the gate is
lowered. It is your responsibility to determine if it is safe to cross the
tracks, even if the lights are not flashing. The signal may not be working.

If you do get boxed in or stalled on a crossing, abandon your car immedi-
ately and run away from the track in the direction the train is coming, in
order to avoid being hit by flying debris. Once you are at a safe distance,
call the 800 number posted on or near the crossbuck, or call 911, to alert
the dispatcher of your stalled vehicle. Do not attempt to restart your vehi-
cle until a dispatcher indicates it is safe and no trains are approaching.

The stopping distance for an average freight train at 55 miles per hour may
be a mile or more. Trains cannot stop quickly; cars can.

If you are stopped at a railroad crossing where there is more than one
track, do not start up as soon as the train passes. Wait until you have a
clear view in both directions before you start across. A second train could
be coming from the other direction. Never attempt to cross a railroad
crossing until there is ample space to get completely across and off the
tracks. Stopping on a railroad crossing is very dangerous.
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School buses and tank trucks carrying flammable liquids must stop at rail-
road crossings.

Expect a train when approaching any railroad track.

Crossing a track after the warning lights are flashing or the crossing
gates are down is against the law, and you could be cited.

OBSERVING TO THE REAR

It is not always easy to maintain a safe distance behind your vehicle. How-
ever, checking traffic behind you several times a minute will help you gain a
complete picture of the traffic situation. If someone is following too closely
or coming up behind you too fast, you will have time to react accordingly.

CHANGING LANES

Some important things to do when you intend to change lanes are:

* Make sure, by glancing in your rearview and sideview mirrors, that no
one is preparing to pass you. Give a proper turn signal showing your
intentions.

* Glance over your shoulder to check for traffic near the left or right rear
corners of your vehicle. These areas are called “blind spots” because
you cannot see them through your mirrors.
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* Also, glance in your left sideview mirror when you are preparing to
change lanes or pull onto the roadway. This will allow you to keep an
eye on traffic behind and ahead of you at the same time. Check over
your left shoulder just before you change lanes. To avoid a collision
on a multi-lane road, check the other lanes to see if another driver
plans to move into the same spot you do.

* Try to avoid slowing down suddenly. If you are forced to slow quickly,
check behind you to see if other drivers are following close to you. By
doing this, you may prevent a rear-end collision.
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KEEPING YOUR CAR WHERE IT CAN BE SEEN

Try to keep your vehicle where it can be seen. You cannot always be sure

other drivers will see you, but you can avoid putting your vehicle where

they cannot see it. One common mistake is driving in another driver’s
blind spot.

* Try to avoid driving on either side slightly to the rear of another vehicle.
Either speed up or drop back, but do not remain in another driver’s blind
spot.

* When passing another vehicle, pass through the other driver’s blind spot
as quickly as you can. The longer you stay there, the longer you are in
danger.

CHECKING THE SPEEDOMETER
Glance at the speedometer about once a minute to ensure you are driving
at a safe and legal speed. This should become a habit.

BACKING
Backing requires extra caution because it is difficult to see behind your
vehicle.

Here are some rules you should follow whenever you have to back your

vehicle.

* Check behind your vehicle before you get in. Children or small objects
are difficult to see from the driver’s seat.

W

* When backing straight to the rear or to the right, look over your right
shoulder directly through the rear window. When backing to your left,
look over your left shoulder. Do not depend on your mirrors.

* Back slowly. Your vehicle is more difficult to control when you are
backing. Continue looking back until you come to a complete stop.

Whenever possible, avoid backing into traffic; or, if possible, use a person
outside the car to help you back.
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If you have passed your exit on an interstate or freeway, never back up or
try to turn around. Go on to the next exit to turn off.

HAVING CLEAN WINDOWS AND MIRRORS
It is important that you be able to see clearly through the windows, wind-
shield, and mirrors.

Keep the windshield clean, because bright sun or headlights on a dirty
windshield decreases vision.

Keep your windshield washer container full. During winter, the wind-
shield washer container should have sufficient windshield solvent to
prevent freezing.

Smoking while driving causes film to build up on the glass inside your
vehicle. Clean the inside of your windows frequently, especially if you
smoke.

Remove snow, ice, or frost from all windows before you start to drive.
Do not hang anything from your rearview mirror or clutter up the wind-
shield or rear window with decals. Besides blocking vision, they are a
violation of the law.

Window tinting. Excessive dark tinting is not allowed. (See page 9.)

ADJUSTING YOUR SEAT, SAFETY BELTS, AND MIRRORS

* Adjust your seat, rearview mirror, and side mirror before you start to drive.
Adjust your seat so that you can see the pavement 12 to 15 feet in front of
the vehicle. Your chest should be located 10 to 12 inches from the center
of the steering column, and your shoulders should be no lower than the top
of the steering wheel. Sliding the seat forward will raise it. Do not adjust
the seat while the vehicle is in motion. If it is still too low, use a seat cush-
ion. Do not move the seat so far forward that you cannot easily steer.
Adjust your seat belt and shoulder strap so they fit snugly and properly.

To guard against glare from the headlights of a vehicle behind, use a
day-night mirror. Adjust it before you drive.

SEEING WELL AT NIGHT
It is more difficult to see at night than during the day. You can see better
at night by doing the following:

Use your high beams whenever there are no oncoming vehicles, except
when fog or other inclement weather would make low beams more
appropriate.

Properly adjusted high beams let you see twice as far as low beams. It is
very important to use them on unfamiliar roads, in construction areas, or
where there may be people along the side of the road.
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* Dim your lights whenever you come within 500 feet of an oncoming
vehicle and when you are following another vehicle within 200 feet.

* Slow down and use low beams in fog, snow, or heavy rain. The light from
high beams will reflect back and cause glare during these conditions.

If the lights of an oncoming vehicle remain on high beam, dim your lights
and look toward the right side of the road. This will keep you from being
blinded by the oncoming vehicle’s headlights.

Do not try to “get back” at the other driver by keeping your bright lights
on. If you do, both of you may be blinded.

WEARING CORRECTIVE LENSES

If you are restricted to wearing corrective lenses, remember the following:

* Always wear your corrective lenses when you drive. If you are not
wearing them and you happen to be stopped by a police officer, you
may be issued a citation.

* Avoid using dark glasses or tinted contact lenses at night. They cut
down the light and make it more difficult to see.

COMMUNICATING TO OTHER DRIVERS

Collisions often happen because a driver does not see another vehicle, or
when a driver does something unexpected by other drivers. It is important
that drivers let others know where they are and what they plan to do.

Communicating Means:
 Letting others know where you are by:
* Using Your Lights.
» Using Your Horn.
¢ Putting Your Vehicle Where It Can Be Seen.
» Using Emergency Signals.
 Letting others know what you plan to do by:
* Signaling a change of direction.
« Signaling when slowing or stopping.

USING YOUR HEADLIGHTS

Headlights help you see at night and help others see you at night and dur-

ing the daytime.

* On rainy, snowy, or foggy days, it is sometimes difficult for other
drivers to see your vehicle. On cloudy days, vehicles seem to blend into
surroundings. In these conditions, even during daytime, low beam head-
lights make your vehicle easier to see.
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* Turn on your headlights at sunset. If you turn them on early, you will
help other drivers see you and possibly avoid a collision.

* Whenever you are driving and lights are necessary, use your headlights.
Parking lights are for parking only.

The best rule to remember is to turn your headlights on whenever you
have trouble seeing other vehicles. If you have trouble seeing them,
chances are they are having trouble seeing you.

USING YOUR HORN

People cannot see you unless they are looking your way. Your horn may

get their attention. Use it whenever it will help prevent a collision. Give

your horn a gentle tap well in advance:

* When passing another driver and it appears that he might pull in front of
you.

* When approaching a driver who is not paying attention or may have
trouble seeing you.

* When coming to a place where you cannot see what is ahead (for exam-
ple, a steep hill or a sharp curve).

If you feel there is a real danger, sound a SHARP BLAST on your horn.

USING EMERGENCY SIGNALS

When your vehicle breaks down on the highway, make sure other drivers
can see it. Collisions often occur because a driver does not see a stalled
vehicle.

If you have mechanical trouble and have to stop, follow these rules:

* Pull completely off the road, to the right if possible.

* If you cannot get completely off the roadway, try to stop where your
vehicle can be seen from a distance. Do not stop just over a hill or just
around a curve.

* Turn on your emergency flashers to warn other drivers. If your vehicle
does not have flashers, then turn signals may be used instead.

* Lift the hood to show others you need assistance.

* Give other drivers plenty of warning. If you have flares, put them 200 or
300 feet behind the vehicle. This allows other drivers to change lanes, if
necessary.

* If you do not have emergency flares, stand off the roadway and wave
traffic around your vehicle. Use a white cloth flag or a piece of clothing.

* Call for assistance for your stalled vehicle, if you can.
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SIGNALING WHEN YOU CHANGE DIRECTIONS
For the benefit of other drivers, you should always signal when you
change directions. This gives them time to react safely to your changes.

You shall use your turn signals before you:
Parallel Park.

Make a turnabout (turnaround).

Change lanes or pass another vehicle.

Turn at an intersection.

Enter or leave a freeway or interstate highway.
Pull away from the curb.

Pull over to the side of the road.

If you do not signal, other drivers will not know what you plan to do. They

may start to do something that will lead to a collision. Here are some

important rules about signaling direction changes:

* Signal every time you change direction, even when you do not see any-
one else around. The vehicle you do not see is the most dangerous.
Check your blind spots by looking over your shoulder.

REMEMBER YOU DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT-OF-WAY JUST
BY TURNING ON YOUR TURN SIGNALS.

— [
N

Right Turn Left Turn

If you plan to turn at an intersection, signal 100 feet before the turn.

If you plan to turn beyond an intersection, signal just after you pass
through the intersection. If you signal earlier, another driver may think
you are turning at the intersection.

After you have made a turn or lane change, turn your signal off. An
inappropriate turn signal is unsafe and annoying.

Be cautious of improper signals by other drivers.

If the driver in front of you is signaling for a turn, do not signal unless you
are also going to turn there. Tap your brake to warn others that you are
slowing down. Signaling a turn for someone else is confusing to others and
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may cause a collision. Signal only for the maneuvers you intend to make.
* Your car must have mechanical signals. Hand signals cannot be used.

REMEMBER to watch for hand signals from farm, construction, and
animal-drawn vehicles which do not have mechanical signals.

SIGNALING WHEN YOU
SLOW DOWN OR STOP
UNEXPECTEDLY

Your brake lights let people
know that you are slowing
down, but they do not show how
much. If you are going to stop or
slow down at a place where an-
other driver does not expect it,
tap your brake pedal as a warn- =
ing.

ADJUSTING SPEED

Posted speed limits do not tell you at what speed to drive. They only tell
you what the maximum legal speed is under ideal conditions. By law, you
have to go slower if conditions make the posted speed limit unsafe.

Speed should be adjusted to varying road conditions and situations. Speed
adjustment as it relates to the following topics is discussed below:

» Kentucky speed limits.

The condition of the road.

Visibility.

Traffic conditions.

KENTUCKY SPEED LIMITS
When the speed limit is not posted, these are the limits on Kentucky roads.
15 MILES PER HOUR

 Speed limit on off-street parking facilities.

35 MILES PER HOUR
¢ All motor vehicles in residential districts.
* As you enter the limits of most towns.

55 MILES PER HOUR
* Open highways.
 Urban interstate and limited-access highways.
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65 MILES PER HOUR
* Rural interstate and limited-access highways.

ADJUSTING TO ROAD CONDITIONS

The only contact your vehicle has with the road is through the tires. Each
of the tires has approximately six square inches of rubber on the surface of
the road. The grip of the tires depends on the condition of the road and of
the tires. The grip is reduced when driving on curving roads, slippery
roads, and anytime the road surface is wet.

CURVES

Before you reach a curve, speed must be adjusted to keep the vehicle
safely on the road. If the curve is sharp and you are going too fast, the
tires cannot grip the road and your vehicle will skid. An advisory speed
sign will give you a recommended safe speed.

Reduce your speed before you enter the curve so
you do not have to brake in the curve. Braking
in a curve can cause a skid.

SLIPPERY ROADS
If the road is slippery, it will not provide the grip your tires need. You will
have to drive slower than you would on a dry road.

Adjust your speed under these conditions:

* On wet roads, reduce speed by 5 to 10 miles
per hour.

* On snow, reduce speed by half.

e Onice, slow down to 5 to 10 miles per hour.

HIGHWAY CONSTRUCTION AREAS

The color orange has a special meaning. It appears on signs and barricades
in construction and maintenance areas as a constant warning to motorists
of possible dangers. Slow down and be alert.

Failing to obey all signs, signals, markings, flaggers, or other traffic-
control devices, which are placed to regulate, control, and guide traffic
through construction or maintenance areas, is illegal and could result in
double fines if posted.

Follow signs and watch for workers and equipment on the highway.
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CONSTRUCTION SIGNS

1 ROAD |
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VISIBILITY

Speed must be adjusted according to how well you can see. A few things

that keep you from seeing well are:

* Darkness. You must be closer to an object to see it at night than during
the day. Never drive so fast that you cannot stop within the distance you
can see with your headlights.

* Rain, fog, or snow. In a heavy rain, snowstorm, or a thick fog, you may
not be able to see more than 100 feet ahead. When you cannot see any
farther than that, you cannot safely drive faster than 25 miles per hour.
You should also use your low-beam headlights.

* Intersections. Trees, bushes, parked cars, signs, and buildings at inter-
sections can block your view of vehicles coming from the side.
Approach these areas with caution and slowly enough to be able to stop
if a vehicle pulls out suddenly.

* Hills and curves. When you come to a hill or curve, adjust your speed
so you can stop if a stalled car or slow-moving vehicle is in your lane.

TRAFFIC CONDITIONS

There is less space to react to vehicles whenever traffic is heavy. You need
to adjust your speed when you approach:

» Shopping centers, parking lots, and downtown areas.

* Roads with heavy traffic.

» Narrow bridges and tunnels.

* Schools, playgrounds, and residential areas.

Vehicles moving in the same direction at the same speed cannot hit one
another. Collisions tend to happen when one driver is going faster or
slower than other vehicles on the road.
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When entering traffic, try to enter at the speed of the traffic already in that
lane. Most interstate and parkway highways usually have a merging area.
If you have to stop to wait for space to enter the highway, do it before you
reach the end of the merging lane.

Most merging areas will have an acceleration lane. Most areas with a yield
sign will not have a merging lane.

When exiting, maintain your speed as long as you are on the main road.
Do not slow down until you move into the deceleration lane or ramp.

= ACCELERATION me---ﬁ‘
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KEEPING A SPACE CUSHION

When a driver makes a mistake, other drivers need time to react. You will
have enough time to react if you have plenty of space between yourself
and others around you. That space becomes a “space cushion” which pro-
tects you from others.

This section will describe how to:

* Keep a Space Cushion Ahead.

» Keep a Space Cushion to the Side.

» Keep a Space Cushion Behind.

» Keep a Space Cushion Between Yourself and Problem Drivers.

KEEPING A SPACE CUSHION AHEAD

Rear-end crashes are more common than any other kind. Many drivers fol-
low too closely, and when the vehicle ahead stops, they cannot react in
time. A three-second following distance is the MINIMUM following dis-
tance. If the vehicle in front of you makes an emergency stop you may be
involved in a collision if you are closer than 2.5 seconds behind that vehi-
cle. A safer three- or four-second following distance will help you avoid a
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collision. The following distance should increase as your speed increases.
To check for a three-second following distance:

When the rear bumper of the vehicle ahead passes a road sign or a pave-
ment marking, start counting the seconds it takes you to reach the same
spot on the road.

Count “one-thousand-one, one-thousand-two, one-thousand-three.”

If you pass the road sign or pavement marking before you finish count-
ing, then you are following too closely.

There are some situations where you should allow more space. In these
situations a four- to five-second following distance is needed.

On Slippery Roads. 1f a vehicle ahead should slow or stop, you will
need more distance to stop your car.

Following Motorcycles. Increase your following distance. Motor-
cyclists can turn and change lanes much quicker than other vehicles.
Extra space is needed to react to these sudden moves by motorcyclists.
Passing. When a driver behind you wants to pass, ease up on the accel-
erator to assist him in passing. Also, you may have to slow down to
allow the driver to move in front of you. Although the other driver may
fail to pass safely, help him out when he makes a mistake.

Blocked View. When you are following drivers whose view to the rear
is blocked, allow more spaces between you and the other vehicle. The
drivers of trucks, buses, vans, or cars pulling campers or trailers may not
see you. They could slow down suddenly without knowing you are
behind them.

Heavy Load or Towing. When you have a heavy load or you are pulling
a trailer, the extra weight increases your stopping distance.

Following Large Vehicles. When following large vehicles that block
your view ahead, you need a greater following distance to see around
the vehicle and to the sides.

School buses and tank trucks carrying flammable liquids must stop at rail-
road crossings. Be prepared to stop if following one of these vehicles.
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You should also allow a space cushion when you are stopped on a hill. The
vehicle in front of you may roll back into your vehicle when it starts up.
Also, the stopping distances are greater when going downhill because of the
force of gravity.

KEEPING A SPACE CUSHION TO THE SIDE

You need a space cushion on each side of your vehicle to have room to

react to sudden moves toward you by others.

* Multi-Lane Streets. Avoid driving alongside other vehicles on multi-
lane streets. Someone may crowd you or try to change lanes and pull
into you. Move ahead of the other vehicle or drop back.

* Oncoming Vehicles. Keep as much space as you can between your
vehicle and oncoming vehicles that could suddenly swerve toward you.

» Entering Vehicles. Make room for vehicles entering interstate highways.
Whenever possible, change lanes to allow those entering to do so
smoothly and safely.

* Parked Vehicles. Keep a space between yourself and parked vehicles.
Someone may step out of the vehicle or from between the parked
vehicles, or a vehicle may start to pull out suddenly. Especially use
caution when traveling interstate highways because there may be parked
vehicles on the shoulder of the highway. When approaching these
vehicles, move to the left lane safely before passing them and then back
to the right lane after passing.

KEEPING A SPACE CUSHION TO THE REAR

It is not always easy to maintain a safe distance behind your vehicle. How-
ever, checking traffic behind you several times a minute will help you gain
a complete picture of the traffic situation. If someone is following too
closely or coming up behind you too fast, you will have time to react
accordingly.

ALLOWING A SPACE CUSHION FOR DEFENSIVE DRIVING
* Following. Occasionally, you will find yourself being followed too
closely. If there is a right lane, move over to the right. If there is no right
lane, wait until traffic is clear, then flash your brake lights and reduce
speed slowly to encourage the tailgater to drive around you or increase
his following distance.

* Seeing. Drivers who cannot see you may enter your path without know-
ing you are there. People who have trouble seeing you include:

* Drivers at intersections, or driveways, whose view is blocked by
buildings, signs, trees, or other vehicles.
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* Drivers backing out of driveways or parking spaces.

* Drivers whose windows are covered with snow or ice.

* Pedestrians with umbrellas in front of their faces, or hats pulled down
over their eyes.

* Distraction. People who are distracted may not see you even when
others can. Allow extra room if you think they may be distracted.
People who may be distracted include:

* Delivery people.

* Construction workers.

¢ Children, who often run into the street without looking.

* Drivers or people who are talking to each other, tending to children,
looking at maps or talking on a cell phone.

* Confused. People who may be confused are very likely to make a move
without looking. People who may be confused include:

* Tourists, often at complicated intersections.
* Drivers who slow down unexpectedly.
¢ Drivers looking for a house number.

If another driver makes a mistake, do what you can to help him out. You
may need to speed up, slow down, change lanes, or even stop. Do what-
ever the situation demands as long as a collision is avoided.

* School Buses. Where there are school buses, there are usually children.

Children are likely to do something unexpected, so be prepared.

* When you come to a school or church bus that is stopped on any road-
way to load or unload passengers, you must STOP. By law you must
remain stopped until all people are clear of the roadway and the bus is
in motion. A stop is NOT required when approaching a stopped bus
from the opposite direction upon a highway of four or more lanes.
However, a STOP is required when following a bus that is stopped on a
two-lane road or you are going in the opposite direction of the bus on a
highway that has less than four lanes, as they are generally not divided.

BOTH VERICLES MUST SToP

37



— \ -':
©5 N\ 7HESE VEHICLES MUST STOP ¢

* Funeral Processions. A funeral procession has the right-of-way at an
intersection and may pass through the intersection if the procession is
led by an escort vehicle displaying flashing yellow, red, or blue lights.
The only exceptions are when the right-of-way is required by an emer-
gency vehicle, when vehicles in the procession are directed otherwise by
a police or safety officer, or when the vehicle is a train or locomotive.
You must not drive your vehicle between the vehicles of a funeral
procession except when authorized to do so by a police or safety officer.
Do not turn on your headlights or engage in any other act for the
purpose of securing right-of-way. Do not pass or overtake any vehicle in
the procession unless directed to do so by a police or safety officer, or
unless the procession is on a street, road, or highway outside the city,
town, or urban-county limits, or unless the procession is on an interstate
highway or state parkway. If you violate this law, you may receive a
$250 dollar fine or 90 days in jail.

* Emergency Vehicles. State law requires drivers to yield the right-of-
way to any vehicle displaying a flashing red or blue light or sounding a
siren. When you become aware of the approach of a vehicle displaying a
flashing red or blue light, or when you hear a siren, you must immedi-
ately drive to the right side of the road or to the curb, clear of any inter-
section, and stop. You must remain stopped until the emergency vehicle
has passed, unless you are directed by a police officer or a firefighter to
move.

STATE LAW
MOVE OVER OR SLOW DOWN
FOR STOPPED
EMERGENCY VEHICLE

* In accordance with KRS 189.930
(5)(a)(1), (5)(a)(2) and (5)(b), If on a four
lane highway if possible move to the left
lane or slow down for stopped emergency
vehicles.
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* When approaching police or other emergency vehicles stopped on the
shoulder of the roadway, approach slowly and move into the left lane
on four-lane highways, if it is safe to do so. On two-lane highways,
approach slowly and pass with caution.

* You must not block any intersection when you stop for an emergency
vehicle. It is also unlawful to follow any emergency vehicle closer
than 500 feet.

* Motorcycles. Motorcycles have as much right to the road as other
vehicles and need as much space. When you pass a motorcycle, give it
an entire lane. Do not try to pass in the same lane. Likewise, motor
cycles must follow the same passing rules as other vehicles. It is unlawful
to pass between cars or drive on the shoulder of the road.

* Mail Delivery and Slow-Moving Vehicles. Use caution when overtaking
mail delivery vehicles or farm machinery. These vehicles move at a
slow speed and make frequent stops.

SHARING THE ROAD WITH TRACTOR-TRAILER TRUCKS
* Trucks have large blind spots, called NO ZONES, behind or on the side.
If you are driving behind a truck and cannot see the rearview mirrors of
the vehicle in front of you, the driver of the large vehicle cannot see
you. Do not drive in the blind spot unless absolutely necessary.

* Trucks require a much longer stopping distance. Do not enter a roadway
in front of a large vehicle. When passing a large vehicle, do not pull
back in front of the truck until you can see its headlights in your inside
rearview mirror. Do not make sudden stops in front of large vehicles.

» Large trucks cannot turn to the right without first swinging to the left, or
to the left without swinging to the right. Never pull into the open space
beside a truck if the driver has signaled to turn.

* An oncoming truck can create jolting air turbulence. Hold the steering
wheel tightly and be ready to make any steering corrections needed.

* On mountain roads or downgrades, watch for fast-approaching trucks. If
one seems out of control or unable to slow down, get out of the way.

* On long downgrades, there are sometimes special “escape” or “run-
away” ramps for trucks. These ramps are for use only by large vehicles
that are out of control or cannot stop because of brake failure. Never
stop or park in the vicinity of these ramps.

* When stopped behind a truck on an upgrade, stay to the left of your lane
where the driver can see you. Allow extra space between you and the
truck in case the truck drifts backwards slightly.

* Avoid driving in the right lane in the vicinity of truck weigh stations
where slow-moving trucks will be attempting to reenter faster-moving
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traffic. You will reduce the possibility of rear-ending or being rear-
ended by a large vehicle.

* Avoid driving near vehicles carrying hazardous materials. These
vehicles will be clearly marked with the type of hazardous materials
they are transporting. Vehicles carrying hazardous materials must stop
at all railroad crossings. Be prepared.

NO-ZONE FOR TRUCKS
e ———— NIEZEANH

SLOW-MOVING VEHICLE SYMBOL

RECOGNIZE THIS SYMBOL

It identifies slow-moving vehicles (25 miles per hour or
less) and it can save your life. Watch for it day and night.

SLOW-MOVING VEHICLES

A slow moving vehicle is a vehicle moving 25 miles per hour or less. In

most cases this will be farm-operated equipment or horse drawn carriages.

All slow-moving vehicles are required to display a slow-moving emblem

to the rear of the vehicle as shown below:

* During the day, you will see the flourescent orange triangle in the center
of the symbol.

* During night driving, you will see the reflective red border of the
symbol when approaching from the rear.

You should use extreme caution when approaching slow-moving vehicles,
especially horse-drawn carriages. Horses can sometimes become fright-
ened by fast approaching automobiles. Courtesy should be extended to the
operator of these carriages. You should use the following guidelines:
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» Before passing, drivers should approach the carriage slowly and pass
only when safe to do so or motioned by the carriage driver.

* Blowing the vehicle horn should be avoided so the animal will not be
freightened.

* Drivers should also watch for hand signals from the carriage operator
indicating turns.

* When meeting a horse-drawn carriage, the same precautions should be
taken.

BY DAY — BY NIGHT —

During the daylight hours, you At night, the reflective red
will see the fluorescent orange border of the symbol will
triangle in the center of the glow in the headlights of
symbol. This triangle is visible an approaching vehicle.
for at least one-fifth mile.

SHARING SPACE

For most drivers, it is difficult to judge how much space they are going to
need. You need to learn to judge how much space you must have to:

* Merge with Traffic.

* Cross or Enter Traffic.

* Pass Other Vehicles.

When you make any of these movements, you must yield the right-of-way
to other vehicles.

MERGE: Any time you merge with other traffic, you need a space of six
seconds. That gives both you and the vehicle behind you a three-second
following distance.

ENTER: Whenever you cross or enter traffic from a complete stop, you
need a larger space to reach an appropriate driving speed. When entering
from a stream of traffic, you need more time to reach the speed of other
vehicles. When you cross through traffic, you need enough room to get all
the way across, not just halfway.
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PASS: Whenever you pass a vehicle on a two-lane road, you must enter a
lane that belongs to oncoming vehicles. At highway speeds of 50 to 55
miles per hour, you need from 10 to 12 seconds to complete a pass. That
means you need a 10- to 12-second gap in oncoming traffic to pass safely.

You must judge whether or not you have enough space to pass whenever
you approach:

* An oncoming vehicle.

* Ahill or a curve.

* An intersection.

* A roadway obstruction.

* Oncoming Vehicles. At highway speeds you will travel 800 feet in 10
to 12 seconds. So will oncoming vehicles. That means you need
over 1600 feet or approximately one-third of a mile to pass safely at
highway speeds. Different situations require various distances to pass
safely. Regardless of the situation, you should never pass when there is
oncoming traffic, particularly if the oncoming vehicle would have to
slow down or pull over in order for you to complete your pass.

* Hills and Curves. Any time your view is blocked by a curve or a hill, you
should assume that there is an oncoming vehicle just out of sight. There-
fore, you should treat a curve or a hill as you do an oncoming car. This
means you should not start to pass when approaching a hill or a curve.

You may pass if there is a broken yellow center line on your side of the road.
Pass only if there are no oncoming cars in the passing lanes.

You may not pass when there is a solid yellow center line on your side of the
road.
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* [Intersections: It is dangerous to pass where someone may enter or cross
the road. Such places include crossroads and congested areas, business
and shopping areas, school zones, parks, playgrounds, and pedestrian
crossings. While you are passing, your view of people and traffic may be
blocked by the vehicle you are passing. Also, other drivers turning onto
the roadway into the left lane may not expect to find you in the left lane.

* Lane Restrictions: Before you pass, look ahead for road or other condi-
tions that may cause other traffic to move into your lane. Make sure
someone is not going to pull in front of you from a private drive or
intersection.

* Space to Return: Never pull out to pass unless you know you have
enough space to return. Do not depend on having enough time to pass
several vehicles at once or rely on other drivers to make room for you.

Before you return to the driving lane, be sure to leave enough room
between you and the vehicle you have passed. One way to do this is to
look for the vehicle in the inside rearview mirror. When you see the
vehicle, you have enough room to return to the driving lane.

* Signs and Markings: Many roads have lane markings that tell you when
passing is legal or illegal. You may NOT pass when there is a solid line
on your side of the broken line of the road.

* You may pass if there is a solid yellow line on the left side of the broken
yellow line.

* Pass only if there are no oncoming vehicles.

* Signs are also used to tell you when passing is legal or illegal.
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Kentucky law requires

* That a pass be completed before reaching the beginning of a “no passing
zone.”

* That a pass be completed when within 100 feet of an oncoming vehicle.

If you are still in the left lane when you reach the “no passing zone,” you
are violating the law.

HANDLING EMERGENCIES

Try to avoid getting into a situation where emergency maneuvers are
required. You can do this by anticipating problems. However, there are
some cases where the ability to handle emergencies is required.

This section provides you with information on:
* Handling Slippery Surfaces.

* Handling Emergencies.

* Avoiding Collisions.

* Use of Seat Belts.

* Collisions.

HANDLING SLIPPERY SURFACES

A stretch of road that is safe under most conditions can become dangerous
when covered with rain, ice, or snow. If you are driving at an excessive
speed or going downhill, these slippery conditions can cause the vehicle to
lose traction and begin to skid or to “hydroplane.” Hydroplaning occurs
when your tires are skimming across the water on a wet roadway and not
contacting the actual roadway surface. To avoid hydroplaning, drive with
properly-inflated tires that have good tread and reduce your speed.

If you see that you are about to drive over a slippery surface, or if you

think the vehicle has started to hydroplane:

* Remove your foot gradually from the accelerator or brake pedal.

* Do not try to stop rapidly or turn quickly until your speed has slowed
and your tires have regained traction with the roadway.

* Pump your brakes gently, unless your vehicle is equipped with anti-lock
brakes, in which case you should apply steady pressure.

During poor weather conditions, drivers need to anticipate the possibility

of slippery roadways and drive cautiously. Just because the road is currently

clear doesn’t mean it will be clear of ice, snow, or standing water around

the next curve. Be prepared.

Changes in the weather call for changes in driving. Be careful at all
times and SLOW DOWN.
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HANDLING SKIDS

Drivers must develop the skill to regain control of their vehicle when a
loss of traction occurs and the vehicle begins to skid. Drivers who fail to
gain these skills respond to a skid by panicking, stomping on the brake,
and then steering too much. These actions will only make the skid worse
and often result in a vehicle collision, which could be fatal.

If your vehicle begins to skid, here is how to regain control:

Release the brake or accelerator. If you are skidding in a straight line
and have to use the brakes, DO NOT brake hard. This will only lock
your wheels and make the skid worse. You should pump the brakes
gently unless your vehicle is equipped with anti-lock brakes, in which
case you should apply steady pressure. Your brakes will work the best
and stop you quicker if they are not locked up.

If you begin to skid sideways, you need to turn the wheel in the direction
the back of the vehicle is skidding. This will allow the front of the vehicle
to line up with the back.

As soon as the vehicle begins to straighten out, turn the wheel back to
prevent the vehicle from skidding in the opposite direction.

Continue to correct your steering, left and right, until you recover com-
pletely from the skid.

The most important vehicle control to use during a skid is the steering
wheel.

Both hands should remain on the steering wheel at all times except when it is
necessary to use one hand for some other driving task.
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If your vehicle begins to skid, here is how to regain control.

014 e

HANDLING EMERGENCIES

There is always a chance of mechanical failure or an unexpected emer-
gency, no matter how cautious you are or how well you maintain your car.
This chart notes some of the more common mechanical failures and what

to do about them.

EMERGENCY

Brake failure: If your
brakes suddenly give out . . .

Vehicle Approaching in
your lane . . .

L=
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WHAT TO DO

. Pump the brake pedal rapidly and

hard several times. This will
often build up enough brake pres-
sure to stop the car. If that does
not work —

. Use the parking brake, but hold

the brake release so you can let
off the brake if the rear wheels
lock and you begin to skid. If that
does not work —

. Shift to a lower gear and look for

a place to slow to a stop.

. Make sure the vehicle is com-

pletely off the roadway, to the
right if possible.

. After the vehicle has stopped,

wait for help. Do not try to drive
the vehicle to a garage.

Sound your horn.

Brake sharply.

Steer for the shoulder or ditch if
necessary.



Power Steering Failure: If the
engine dies . . .

Headlight Failure: If your

headlights suddenly go out . . .

Animal runs in front of
your car . . .

Accelerator Sticks: The
vehicle keeps going
faster and faster . . .

Hood Latch Failure: If your
hood suddenly fliesup . . .

—
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. Put the vehicle in neutral and try

to start it quickly. If this is not
practical, or if the vehicle does
not start, then —

. Stop the vehicle. You may have

to push hard if your vehicle has
power brakes.

. Restart the engine.

. Try the dimmer switch. That will

often put them on again.

. Try the headlight switch a few

times.

. If that does not help, put on the

parking lights, emergency flash-
ers, or turn signals.

. Pull off the road as quickly as

possible, and leave the emergency
flashers on. You should pull to the
right, if possible.

Brake.
Steer to avoid the animal only if
it can be done safely.

Keep your eyes on the road.
Quickly shift to neutral.

Pull off the road as soon as you
can, to the right if possible, and
bring your vehicle to a stop.
Turn off the engine.

Slow down.
Try to look under the hood to
see. If you cannot —

. Put your head out the window

and look around the hood. Use
the center line or the lane mark-
ing as a guide.

Brake and pull off to the side of
the road, to the right if possible,
and stop.
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Wet Brakes: If you have . Test brakes lightly.
to go through a lot of water . . . 2. Brakes may pull to one side or
may not work at all.
3. Dry brakes by driving slowly in
low gear and applying brakes
lightly.

Tire Failure (Blowout) . . . . Grip the steering wheel.

. Brake lightly.

. Pull off the roadway, to the right

if possible.

. Reduce your speed.

2. Return to the pavement at no
more than 5 miles per hour.

3. Do not over-correct steering.

4. Grip steering wheel and grad-
ually steer onto pavement.
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Driving onto a low shoulder . . .

Breakdown on Interstate 1. Turn on your emergency
Highways . . . flashers.

2. Park your vehicle on the shoulder,
as far to the right as possible.

3. Do not work too near the edge of
the driving lane.

4. If someone is with you, have him
keep an eye on traffic, or do it
yourself.

5. Avoid standing behind the car or
between two cars.

If you have pulled into the emergency lane and wish to reenter traffic, speed
up in the emergency lane, if possible, prior to pulling onto the roadway.

AVOIDING COLLISIONS

When it looks as if a collision may happen, many drivers simply slam on
the brakes. This locks the wheels and puts the vehicle into a skid, making
things worse.

Sometimes braking may be the right thing to do, but it is not the only thing
to do. To avoid a collision, a driver has three tools he can use
1. Braking, which is used to stop the vehicle quickly in an emergency:
 Standard Brakes: Push the brake pedal hard. If the vehicle begins to
skid, quickly let up on the brake, then quickly push it down again.
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» Anti-Lock Brakes: Apply steady pressure. This allows the vehicle to
stop just as quickly, but also allows you to continue steering.

2. Evasive Steering is used when you are unable to stop in time to avoid a
collision.

* Try to steer around the vehicle or object, if you can do so safely.
However, you should consider the movement of the vehicle you are
avoiding when making any evasive move.

3. Accelerating is sometimes necessary to avoid a collision.

* Accelerate quickly if another vehicle is about to hit you from the side
or behind.

* In a vehicle with a manual transmission, shift quickly into a lower
gear and accelerate rapidly. If the car has an automatic shift, you can
do the same thing by pushing the accelerator down quickly.

To be able to turn quickly you need to hold the steering wheel correctly.
You should follow these steps:

To turn quickly to the left:

12

L

Best hand position for Turn the steering wheel to
Driving the left as far as necessary
to avoid the obstacle

As you clear the obstacle, turn As you return to your lane, turn the

steering wheel right as far as neces- steering wheel left to straighten the
sary to get back into your lane. vehicle.
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* To turn quickly to the right, use the same procedures for turning quickly
to the left, except turn the steering wheel in the opposite direction.

* To turn quickly, your hands must be on opposite sides of the steering
wheel, the nine and three o’clock hand positions. It is safest to hold the
steering wheel in this fashion at all times while driving.

* Once you have turned away from something, you must be ready to
quickly turn back again. Many people steer away from one collision
only to end up in another.

PROTECTING YOURSELF IN COLLISIONS

You may not always be able to avoid a collision. Try everything you can
to keep from getting hit. The following are guidelines, if you cannot avoid
a collision.

Hit from the rear. If you are about to be hit from the rear:

* Be ready to apply your brake so that you will not be pushed into another
vehicle.

* Brace yourself between the steering wheel and the back of the seat.

* If your vehicle has head restraints, press the back of your head firmly
against the head restraint.

Hit from the side. If you are about to be hit from the side:

* Brace yourself with the steering wheel to keep from being thrown
against the side of the vehicle.

* Get ready to steer quickly so that if you spin around you can still try to
control the vehicle.

Hit from the front. If you are about to be hit from the front and your vehi-
cle is not equipped with airbags:
* If you are wearing a shoulder belt, use your arms and hands to protect
your face.
* If you are not using a shoulder strap, throw yourself across the seat so
that you do not hit the steering column or the windshield.

PROTECTING YOURSELF AND YOUR PASSENGERS

No one can be completely protected from being in a collision. None of us
can predict what other drivers will do. During an average lifetime of
driving, we face a one-in-three chance of being seriously injured or killed
in a motor-vehicle collision. Your best protection against serious injury or
death in a collision is your safety belt.
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BUCKLE UP
KENTUCKY

ITS THE LAW &
IT'S ENFORCED

e

SAFETY BELTS

Kentucky Law states: No person shall operate a motor vehicle manufac-
tured after 1981 on the public roadways of this state unless the driver
and all passengers are wearing a properly adjusted and fastened safety
belt. The driver is responsible for assuring that he and all passengers in
the vehicle are properly restrained. For more information on the Seat
Belt Law go to http://ghsp.ky.gov/pdf/ghsp_courtesy_warning_letter.pdf

The proper use of safety belts is important. Use both the lap and the
shoulder belt. The lap belt should be low and snug across the hips, not
high on the abdomen. The shoulder belt should cross the collarbone and
should never be placed behind your back.

Seat Belt Law is primary in Kentucky and drivers can be stopped by law
enforcement officers if observed driving while not wearing seat belts.

The advantages of wearing your safety belts are:

* They will keep you inside the vehicle during a rollover. Your chances of
surviving a crash are five times greater if you stay inside the protection
of your vehicle.

* They hold you in your seated position during sudden stops and turns and
prevent you from impacting the steering wheel or dashboard during a
collision. You should realize that your body moves toward the steering
wheel or dashboard during a frontal collision. If you are not belted in
properly and you are traveling at 55 miles per hour when the collision
occurs, your body will impact the steering wheel or dashboard at the
same speed. The odds of you surviving this type of crash without proper
safety belt usage are small.
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AIRBAGS

Most vehicles are equipped with one or more airbags to supplement the
safety belts. Airbags reduce the likelihood that the occupant’s head or
torso will strike some portion of the vehicle’s interior. Airbags are
designed to inflate if the sensors detect a significant frontal collision. The
airbags deploy at speeds of 160 to 200 miles per hour, and the entire
deployment process takes about 1/20™ of a second — faster than the blink
of an eye. In the event your airbag deploys, it is common for a powder-like
substance to fill the vehicle compartment. This substance is only a drying
agent for the airbag but could be mistaken for smoke.

If your vehicle is equipped with an airbag, there are some things you

should remember to avoid serious injury:

* Move the seat back. The driver’s seat should be as far back from the
dashboard as possible while still being able to operate the vehicle safely.
The passenger seat should also be set back as far as possible.

* Drivers should place their hands on the outside of the steering wheel —
never across the steering wheel where the airbag deploys.

* Children 12 years of age and under should ride in the back seat in a
safety belt or child-restraint system. THE RISK TO CHILDREN
FROM AIRBAGS CAN BE VIRTUALLY ELIMINATED IF
CHILDREN ARE IN THE BACK SEAT.

* Infants in rear-facing child safety restraint systems should NEVER ride
in the front seat of a vehicle with the passenger side airbags enabled.
Turn off the airbag if your vehicle is equipped with the factory installed
disabling switch.

CHILD RESTRAINT SYSTEMS

Kentucky Law states: Any driver of a motor vehicle, when transporting a
child of forty (40) inches in height or less in a motor vehicle operated on
the roadways, streets, and highways of this state, shall have the child prop-
erly secured in a child restraint system of a type meeting federal motor
vehicle safety standards. Any person who violates the provisions of Ken-
tucky’s Child Restraint Law shall be fined fifty dollars ($50) and shall pay
an additional fee of ten dollars ($10) which shall be deposited in the Trau-
matic Brain Injury Trust Fund.

Proper installation of the Child Safety Seat is your first priority. The Safety
Seat will not provide the maximum protection if not properly installed. The
Safety Seat should ideally be placed in the middle of the rear seat and
anchored to prevent any movement in the event of a collision. Assistance
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with the installation of your Child Safety Seat may be found at a Child
Safety Seat Inspection Site at your local Kentucky State Police Post.

UNATTENDED CHILDREN

Each year children are injured or tragically die as a result of being left
unattended in a vehicle. When you leave a child in the vehicle alone, with
the keys in the ignition, you risk the child moving the vehicle and causing
a collision. When you leave a small child in the vehicle for an extended
time during hot weather, you risk the life of that child:

Kentucky Law states it is ILLEGAL to leave a child under the age of eight
(8) years in a motor vehicle under circumstances which manifest an
extreme indifference to human life and which create a grave risk of death
to the child, thereby causing the death. There are several statues in Ken-
tucky Law that makes it illegal to endanger the life or health of a child.

STEERING LOCKS AND LOCKING SYSTEMS

The spring-loaded steering lock has been standard equipment on most
vehicles worldwide since 1969. It serves as an auto theft device. Be cau-
tious with vehicles with steering-lock devices.

Never turn your ignition key to the lock position while the vehicle is in
motion. That will cause the steering to lock and result in loss of vehicle
control.

TRANSMISSION PARK SYSTEM

Park. Shift the transmission into the “park™ position. Turn key to LOCK
and remove.

TWO-HAND BUTTON SYSTEM

Park. This system requires two hands. Depress button below the steering
column. Turn key to LOCK and remove.

LEVER SYSTEM

Park. Depress lever located near the ignition. Turn key to LOCK and
remove.

ONE-HAND BUTTON SYSTEM

Park. Depress button near the ignition. Turn key to LOCK and remove.
PUSH-IN SYSTEM

Park. Turn key to OFF, push in. Turn key to LOCK and remove.
TURN-AND-REMOVE SYSTEM

Park. Turn key to LOCK and remove.

© 2002 Automobile Safety Foundation
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COLLISIONS
If you are involved in a collision:
* Stop your vehicle at or near the crash scene. Stay there until the police
have arrived and questioned everyone involved.
¢ In accordance with KRS 189.580 (1)(b),
SR TR o S when involved in a non-injury accident

MOVE DAMAGED h hicl he shoul-
VEHICLES TO SHOULDER| oot (e fj;gi‘ff; venicies to the shou
IF NO INJURIES

* Get the names and addresses of all peo-
ple involved in the collision and any witnesses.
* Record the following information regarding any other operator(s)
involved in the collision:
* Name, address, and license number from the operator’s license.
* Vehicle registration number.
* Make, model, and year of vehicle.
 License plate number.
L]

Insurance company name and number.
List of damage to vehicle.
* Record exactly what happened immediately before and after the
collision. Later you may not remember everything correctly.
* Always contact the police if there is an injury, death, or vehicle and
property damage exceeding $500.
Any person operating a motor vehicle on the highways of this state who is
involved in an accident resulting in any property damage exceeding $500
in which an investigation is not conducted by a law enforcement officer,
shall file a written report of the accident with the Department of State
Police within ten days of occurrence of the accident, using forms provided
by the Department.

Send this report to address listed below. This must be done within ten days
after the accident, regardless of who is at fault. Such a report is NOT
necessary if the police have made a report.

Kentucky State Police

1250 Louisville Road

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

If the accident involves a parked vehicle, try to find the owner. If you
cannot, leave a note where it can be seen. The note should contain:

Your name and address.

Your driver’s license number.

License plate number.

Date and time of accident.
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FIRST AID TO ACCIDENT VICTIMS

By prompt and proper action you may be able to assist in saving a life or

in easing pain and suffering of persons who have been injured in traffic or

other mishaps.

* Summon trained and skilled help. If possible, call emergency medical
personnel and notify a peace officer. You should clearly and correctly
state the place of the accident so that emergency personnel can find you
easily.

* Only in life-threatening emergencies should you try to remove an
individual from a collision.

 If possible, wait for an E.M.T. or ambulance rather than attempt to
remove an individual from a COLLISION.

» Keep the victim warm by covering him with a blanket or coat if necessary.

MOTORCYCLES

All traffic laws and regulations apply equally to passenger car and motor-
cycle operators. To qualify for a motorcycle operator’s license, you must
learn the information contained throughout this entire manual. Many
motorcycle dealers have free literature on riding tips, which may also be
helpful to you.

You must be at least 18 years old or the holder of a valid operator’s license
in order to apply for a motorcycle permit. Applicants under 18 must have a
parent or legal guardian who is willing to assume responsibility sign the
Driver License Application. This is true even if the parent or legal guardian
has already signed the Driver License Application allowing the minor to
drive a moped or automobile.

In this section, emphasis will be on:
e Laws.

* Operator Requirements.

* Vehicle Requirements.

» Safety Tips.

KENTUCKY MOTORCYCLE LAW
Definition: Kentucky law defines a motorcycle as any motor-driven
vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the operator and designed to
travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, but
excluding tractors and vehicles on which the operator and passengers ride
in an enclosed cab, and excluding a moped.

Motor bikes, mini bikes, and any other small vehicles may not be operated
upon the street or highway without first meeting the requirements for a
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regular motor vehicle, such as registration plate; and the operator must
have a license to operate the vehicle. The only place a driver may legally
ride or operate this type of vehicle without an operator’s license and other
safety equipment is on private property.

MOTORCYCLE SAFETY EDUCATION PROGRAM

This program shall offer motorcycle rider training courses designed to
develop and instill knowledge, attitudes, habits, and skills necessary for
the proper operation of a motorcycle.

Rider training courses shall be open to any resident of the state who either
holds a current valid driver’s license for any classification or holds a
motorcycle instruction permit.

Applicants for a motorcycle driver’s license will be exempted from the
licensing skills test if they present satisfactory evidence of successful
completion of an approved rider training course that includes a similar test
of skill.

For more information regarding motorcycle rider training school locations
and costs, please contact the Kentucky Motorcycle Safety Program at
1-800-396-3234.

OPERATOR/PASSENGER REQUIREMENTS

The driver/operator must have:

* A valid motor vehicle operator’s license with a valid motorcycle
operator’s endorsement thereon, a motorcycle license, or an instruction
permit to operate a motorcycle, before operating a motorcycle upon any
public roadway in Kentucky.

* A motorcycle operator authorized to drive a motorcycle on an instruc-
tion permit shall not be authorized to carry passengers.

» The operator must use an approved eye-protection device, in the manner
prescribed by the Transportation Cabinet, and both operator and passen-
ger must wear approved protective headgear anytime the vehicle is in
motion.

* A person may operate without a helmet if he is over 21 and has held a
motorcycle license for one year or more. Passengers must be 21 or over
to ride without a helmet. Persons under 21, or those who have held their
licenses for less than one year, must still wear protective headgear.

VEHICLE REQUIREMENTS

* It is unlawful to operate or ride as a passenger on a motorcycle which
does not have a seat or footrest permanently attached, both being specif-
ically designed to carry passengers in a safe manner.
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* Equipment Required: Rearview mirror, one headlight high and low
beam, taillight, horn, muffler, tailpipe, brakelight, front and rear
brakes, proof of liability insurance, good tires, and registration. Turn
signals are now required, if they were part of the factory equipment
for that model. Goggles Helmet

Reflective Tape

Rear-View Mirror, Long Sleeves

Long Pants

Horn

Taillight
. Brake Light

License Plate Light

HAZARDS TO MOTORCYCLISTS

CHILDREN. Children and animals may dart in the path of motorcycles.
Be especially careful in school and residential areas.

CROSSTRACKS-RIGHT CROSSTRACKS-WRONG
== =

RAILROAD TRACKS, TROLLEY TRACKS AND PAVEMENT
SEAMS. Usually it is safer to ride straight within your lane to cross
tracks. Turning to take tracks head-on (at a 90* angle) can be more danger-
ous — your path may carry you into another lane of traffic. For track and

PARALLEL TRACKS-RIGHT PARALLEL TRACKS-WRONG




road seams that run parallel to your course, move far enough away from
tracks, ruts, or pavement seams to cross at an angle of at least 45°. Then,
make a delierate turn. Edging across could catch your tires and throw you
off balance.

BRIDGE GRATINGS

77
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BLIND SPOT. The cause of most motorcycle/motor-vehicle collisions is

due to the cyclist not being seen by the other driver. For this reason, cyclists

must always keep out of a driver’s blind spot. To be seen on the open road,

turn your headlight on.

A7) I’!
|
/

FOLLOWING. When following a vehicle, ride near the left third of the
lane. Never follow too closely, as this reduces the ability to stop safely and
to see road and traffic conditions ahead.

P i T BN
Z

N
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PARKED CARS. The cyclist must always scan ahead for possible
dangers, such as drivers and passengers stepping out of or from between

parked vehicles into the lane of traffic. This is one reason to drive in the
left third of the lane.
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TURNING. When rounding a corner or turn, lean into the turn. On wet or
slippery surfaces, lean as little as possible and reduce speed.

BRAKING. Under normal stopping conditions, use both front and rear
brakes. Avoid using the front brake only, because this causes the motor-
cycle to dip and may cause the cycle to skid, especially if the surface is
slippery because of moisture, gravel, or sand. Keep both brakes properly
adjusted. If you are riding an unfamiliar motorcycle, test the brakes before
starting.

KEEP YOUR DISTANCE. A motorcyclist must follow other vehicles at
a safe distance. Heavier cycles
require a longer stopping dis- |EE e
tance than lighter cycles. Stop-
ping distance is also increased i J

when the pavement is wet or 4 SECONDS 3 SECONDS
slippery. It is very important to (ST T
keep a safe margin when fol-
lowing another vehicle. A safe distance can be determined by using a four-
second count. A three-second count is explained earlier under “Keeping A
Space Cushion.” It is safer for a motorcyclist to use a four-second distance
than the three-second distance for other vehicles, because a motorcycle
requires a longer stopping distance.

APPROACHING TRAFFIC LIGHTS OR MARKED/UNMARKED
INTERSECTIONS. When approaching a traffic light or intersection
where other traffic has stopped, stop behind the vehicle ahead. “Never go
in between cars.” When in doubt as to who has the right-of-way at an
intersection, yield to the other driver. Always prepare to stop when
approaching an intersection.

ADVERSE CONDITIONS. A frequent cause of single-vehicle motor-
cycle accidents is inattention to road conditions. When approaching a
surface of loose gravel, sand, or dirt, use extreme caution and avoid sudden
or rapid movements. When riding on wet pavement, reduce speed and
avoid sudden braking or acceleration. Be especially careful of the center
“strip” of each traffic lane, as it usually has a film of oil covering it and is
very slippery when wet. The center painted lines on the roadway, when
wet, are also hazardous to cyclists.

PASSING. Never pass to the right of another vehicle on a two-lane road.
A cycle may be smaller than other vehicles, but all rules and regulations
still pertain to it as though it were an automobile.
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BEING SEEN. Many accidents with other vehicles occur simply because
the cyclist was not seen by other drivers. Using your motorcycle head-
lights and wearing proper clothing that include bright colors, will make
you more visible and therefore somewhat safer. As a result of not being
seen, most accidents involving a motorcycle happen at intersections.

WIND. Gusty winds are usually a hazard to the cyclist. These winds can
be a product of nature or semi-trailer trucks The sudden and often unex-
pected intensity of a gust of wind may cause loss of control.

PASSENGERS OR BUNDLES. A motorcycle becomes less maneuver-
able as more weight is added to it. With increased weight, it is more diffi-
cult to keep upright and properly balanced. A heavy load also increases
stopping distance and makes it harder to start at intersections. Avoid
carrying heavy bundles or passengers, if possible. If it is unavoidable, take
these precautions to make it safer: Carry parcels in a luggage carrier or in
a saddlebag; instruct the passenger to lean with the rider, keep feet on the
footrests, and to place hands on the rider’s hips. Passengers or bundles
should never be carried in front of the cyclist.

POSITION. The best lane position for seeing and being seen is the left
third of the lane.

1. On a two-lane roadway, ride on the left portion of your lane.

2.0n a four-lane roadway, when alone, ride on the left half of the right
lane, or on the right half of the inside lane.

3. When riding in a group, you should ride in a staggered position, and
never side by side.

=

RIGHT-OF-WAY. Even though the right-of-way is yours, it may be
necessary to yield. The cyclist nearly always loses in a collision with a
larger vehicle. Remember, others may not see you.
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PROTECTIVE CLOTHING

Passengers and operators alike should wear protective clothing in addition
to the required safety equipment. Since approximately 60 percent of all
cycle fatalities are from head injuries, it is important that cyclists wear a
protective helmet with a chinstrap. Clothing made from heavy material,
such as leather, gives more protection in a motorcycle mishap. Good
common sense demands that cyclists wear shoes at all times. In fact, heavy
leather shoes or boots should be preferred over tennis shoes.

SAFETY TIPS.

Always wear a U.S. Department of Transportation approved helmet and
proper clothing.

When traveling with several motorcyclist, ride in a staggered position,
and never two abreast.

Be careful with brakes — apply both brakes at the same time.

Watch for slick or loose surface, and reduce speed before you get to
these areas.

Check nearby traffic before passing or changing lanes.

Be alert at intersections. This is where most motorcycle accidents occur.
Never make a U-turn without first coming to a full stop.

Always wear clothing that can be seen readily by other drivers.

Stay off the interstate highways unless your motorcycle is capable of
cruising at interstate speed. The motor size should be a 250 cc or larger
for interstate speeds.

Do not carry passengers unless your motorcycle is designed for more
than one person.

Turn your lights on, even in daylight hours, so other drivers can see you.
Remember that your stopping distance is increased if you are carrying a
passenger or heavy bundle.

Do not loan your motorcycle to anyone who is not experienced in riding
your type motorcycle.

The best lane position for seeing and being seen is on the left third of
the right lane.

Guard against overconfidence.

Remember that your stopping distance is greater than that of a passenger
car.

Avoid congested traffic areas and high speed when learning to ride.
Handlebars should be set not more than 15 inches above the seat level
for maximum control and comfort.

Children and animals may dart in the path of motorcycles. Be especially
careful in school and residential areas.
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HANDLING CHARACTERISTICS OF MOTORCYCLES

The handling characteristics of a motorcycle are different from those of
four-wheeled vehicles. For example, motorcycles are particularly vulner-
able to weather and road-surface conditions. Like bicycles, motorcycles
are not very stable. They can easily be spilled (tipped over).

EXPOSURE AND THE MOTORCYCLIST

Motorcycle operators lack protection. They have little protection against
bad weather and even less protection against injuries that might be caused
by falls or by collisions with other vehicles or objects.

VISIBILITY

Compared to trucks and cars, motorcycles are quite small. For this reason,
they are often not noticed by other drivers. Some drivers may not spot or
even think to look for motorcyclists traveling in their blind spots.

REMEMBER — OTHER DRIVERS MAY NOT SEE YOU!

PERFORMANCE TEST
During the motorcycle performance test, the applicant will be required to
maneuver through the cones as illustrated in the following diagrams.

Motorcychs
Skills Tast

)
)

5)
R | I (,, ° )
. D

o)

- L )
* i

Drive through lane, shifting to higher gear, turn around at | Zig-Zag (Serpentine) through cones, turn around at end of
end of cones. Come back through lane, shifting to lower cones and Zig-Zag (Serpentine) back through cones.
gear. Stop with front wheel between stop and start cones.
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MOPEDS

“Moped” means either a motorized bicycle whose frame design may
include one (1) or more horizontal crossbars supporting a fuel tank so long
as it also has pedals, or a motorized bicycle with a step-through type frame
which may or may not have pedals, rated no more than two (2) brake
horsepower, a cylinder capacity not exceeding fifty (50) cubic centimeters,
an automatic transmission not requiring clutching or shifting by the
operator after the drive system is engaged, and capable of a maximum
speed of not more than thirty (30) miles per hour.

First time applicants for a moped license must be at least 16 years old and
complete a driver license application. You will only be required to pass
the general knowledge and vision tests to be issued a moped license. A
skills test and permit are not required. Persons already having a valid
operator’s license or permit do not have to apply for a moped license.

OPERATION

Mopeds are a little more complicated to ride and operate than bicycles, but
considerably simpler than motorcycles. Familiarity with controls can be
learned by operating the vehicle in a parking lot or other off-street area.

Since mopeds are not easily seen in the traffic flow, it is vital that the
operator surround himself with as large a “space cushion” as possible.
Riding with the headlight on and bike flags will help others see you.

Moped operators are not required to wear helmets or eye-protection
devices, but they are strongly recommended.

Mopeds CANNOT be operated on limited-access highways where the
minimum speed is more than thirty (30) miles per hour.

TRAIL BIKES AND ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES (ATV’S)
Trail bikes or all-terrain vehicles are designed for off-road use, and their
use on streets or highways is illegal.

“All-terrain vehicle” means any motor vehicle for off-road use, which is
fifty (50) inches or less in width; has a dry weight of six hundred (600)
pounds or less; travels on three (3) or more low pressure tires; is designed
for operator use only with no passengers; and has a seat or saddle designed
to be straddled by the operator, and handle bars for steering control.
* No person shall operate an all-terrain vehicle upon any public highway
or roadway or upon the right-of-way of any public highway or roadway.
» Exception: Persons may operate an ATV on any two-lane public high-
way, if the operator is engaged in farm or agricultural-related activi-
ties, construction, road maintenance, or snow removal. Persons not
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engaged in one of these activities may operate an ATV on any two-
lane public highway in order to cross the highway, but may not travel
on the highway for more than 2/10 of a mile. Persons who operate an
ATV on a public highway must have a valid operator’s license and
comply with all traffic regulations; must have at least one headlight
and two taillights illuminated at all times; and may only operate the
ATV during daylight hours, unless engaged in snow removal or emer-
gency road maintenance.

* No person shall operate an all-terrain vehicle on any public or private
property without the consent of the landowner, tenant, or governmental
agency responsible for the property, and unless the operator wears
approved protective headgear, in the manner prescribed by the secretary
of the Transportation Cabinet, at all times that the vehicle is in motion.

* No person under the age of sixteen (16) years shall operate an all-terrain
vehicle with an engine size exceeding ninety (90) cubic centimeters
displacement, nor shall any person under the age of sixteen (16) years
operate an all-terrain vehicle except under direct parental supervision.

¢ No person under the age of twelve (12) years shall operate an all-terrain
vehicle with an engine size exceeding seventy (70) cubic centimeters
displacement.

BICYCLES

Traffic laws, highway signs, rules-of-the-road, and safety requirements apply to
bicycles the same as other vehicles. Not all people ride bicycles, but as a driver
you must be aware of their rules and regulations. This section includes:

¢ Bicycle Laws.

¢ Rules for Cyclists.

* Rules for Motorists.

BICYCLE LAWS

Kentucky law states that cyclists shall:

“Be granted all the rights and be subject to all the duties” applicable to drivers
of any vehicle. A bicycle is a vehicle, not a toy, and, as such, must obey the
traffic rules and regulations pertaining to all highway users. Motorists should
regard bicyclists as they would any other vehicle.

A signal is required for a vehicle that is not a motor vehicle and may be given
by either hand signals, signal lamps, or mechanical signal devices. The signal
shall be given intermittently for the last fifty (50) feet traveled by the vehicle
before the turn.
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Hand signals shall be executed in the following manner when operating a
vehicle that is not a motor vehicle:

The hand and arm shall be extended horizontally from the left side of
the vehicle to indicate a left turn;

The arm shall be extended horizontally from the left of the vehicle with
the left hand and arm extended upward from the elbow, or the right arm
and hand shall be extended horizontally to indicate a right turn.

Either arm shall be extended horizontally with the hand and arm extended
downward from the elbow to indicate a stop or decrease in speed.

Some counties have local traffic laws called ordinances. These control the
operation and parking of bicycles within city limits. As a driver, it is important
for you to know what they are and to obey them at all times.

RULES FOR BICYCLISTS

Never use Interstate and Parkway systems for cycling.
Use hand signals to communicate your [
actions to other vehicles.
Obey the instructions of official traffic- S=
control signals and signs. Stop at stop [
signs and for stop lights just like a motor -
vehicle.

Operate a bicycle within posted speed
limits or at a rate reasonable for existing
conditions.

Ride a bicycle on the right side of the road with traffic.

Yield to pedestrians in crosswalks and on sidewalks. Give an audible
warning (bell or horn) before passing pedestrians.

When riding at night, operate the bicycle with a white light visible from
the front and a red reflector or light visible from the rear.

* Reflector tape may be used for added visibility.

All slower-moving vehicles, including bicycles, shall drive as closely as
practical to the right-hand boundary of the highway. Extreme caution
should be used when moving out into the center of the road to avoid
road debris, to pass another vehicle, or to make a left turn.

DO NOT RIDE ON THE SIDEWALK

Never park a bicycle on a sidewalk in such a way as to interfere with
pedestrian traffic.

Ride on a bike path adjacent to the roadway, if one is provided.

Carry no more persons than the number for which the bicycle is
designed and equipped.
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Never ride more than two abreast so as to interfere with the normal
movement of traffic.

RULES FOR MOTORISTS CONCERNING BICYCLES
A motorist must:

Share the road with bicycles.

Before passing a cyclist, look to see if there is loose debris on the pavement
that might cause them to move into the center of the lane. Pass a cyclist only
when it can be done safely, and give ample room (3 feet) between your car
and the cyclist. Realize the air turbulence your vehicle can create at high
speeds or in windy weather. Give the cyclist extra room if your vehicle has
extended outside rearview mirrors. Return to the lane only when you are
safely clear of the overtaken bicyclist.

Look for cyclists. Because of their narrow profile you will need to develop
your eye-scanning patterns to include bicyclists.

When you are turning right after passing a cyclist, leave ample room so you
don’t cut him off when you slow for your turn.

When opening your car door, check behind for cyclists.

At night be extra alert and don’t use your high beams, for they will tempo-
rarily blind the cyclist.

Remember, bicyclists are not special and privileged. They have the same
rights, rules, and responsibilities as all other highway users.

Grips-Tight Stem Clamp-Tight
Handle Bars Won't Turn

Light-Clean, Bright

Good Batteries

Head Lock Nut-Tight
Qiled, Fork Free

"~ Mud Guard-Tight

Post Boit-
Tight

Wheel Rim-Runs N\
True, Undented
"

—
Reflector-Clean
Not Cracked

Saddle Clamp-
Bolt Tight :

Good
Tires-Properly
- Inflated

Chain-Proper Slack Pedals Spin Freely
Y2 to % Inches

Hub Nuts-Tight
Whecls Free

SELECT a bicycle with proper equipment for
safety. Keep the bike in good condition.

KEEPING IN SHAPE
Driving is one of the most complex things that people do. To do it well takes a lot
of skill and judgment. When you are a new driver, it takes all the ability you have.

66



If anything happens to lower your physical or mental ability, you cannot drive
as well. Your ability to drive is affected by:

* Drinking * Alertness
* Drugs * Health
* Combining Drugs and/or Alcohol * Emotions
* Vision and Hearing

DRINKING AND DRIVING

In Kentucky intoxicating beverages (beer, whiskey, wine, etc.) are involved to
some extent in some 40 percent of collisions fatal to pedestrians, about 48
percent of collisions fatal to drivers, and a factor in 72 percent of the fatal
collisions in which only one car was involved. Nationally, thousands of
people die each year in alcohol-related collisions. If you drink even a
small amount, your chances of having a collision are greater than if you
were not drinking.

WHY IS DRINKING AND DRIVING SO DANGEROUS?
When alcohol enters your stomach, it goes directly into your bloodstream
and then to all parts of your body. It reaches your brain in 20 to 40
minutes. Alcohol affects those parts of your brain that control your
judgment, vision, and skill. As the amount of alcohol increases, your
judgment, vision, and skill deteriorate. You have trouble judging
distances, speeds, and movement of other vehicles. Finally, you have
trouble controlling your vehicle.

WHAT IS YOUR LIMIT?

The minimum blood-alcohol concentration at which a person is presumed
to be under the influence of intoxicants in the State of Kentucky is .08%. The
minimum blood-alcohol for CDL drivers is .04%. The .08 level is a “per se”
violation, which means that it is illegal to operate a vehicle in Kentucky with
a blood-alcohol concentration at that level. Under this definition, a prosecutor
does not have to prove impairment of the driver. The level for DUI for those
under 21 years of age remains at .02%. Blood-alcohol concentration is
determined by a Breathalyzer or other chemical tests.

“Under the influence” means that due to drinking alcoholic beverages a
person has lost (to some degree) the clearness of mind and self-control that
he would otherwise possess. Loss of judgment, vision, and skill may occur
long before obvious symptoms of intoxication. Even one drink will affect
your driving.

Experts advise that it takes your body approximately one hour to burn up
one ounce of alcohol.
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WHAT IF YOU HAVE TOO
MUCH?

There is no way to sober up quickly. Cof- |
fee, fresh air, exercise, or cold showers
will not help. Sleep will not help either,
except to pass the time. Time is the only
thing that will sober you up.

WHAT IF THE LAW ENFORCE-
MENT OFFICER STOPS YOU?

If you are stopped by a law enforcement
officer, you may be asked to take a chemi-
cal test of the alcohol in your body. Under
the “Implied Consent” law, anyone who
operates a motor vehicle in Kentucky con-
sents to take a chemical test if arrested for
DUI (Driving While Under the Influence of Intoxicating beverages or other
substance which may impair one’s driving ability). If you take the test, the
reading will be used in court as evidence. If you refuse, your license may be
revoked even if you are not convicted of the DUI charge or any other
violations.

Traffic stops can be a stressful experience for both the police officer and the

person stopped. Here are some ways to improve your traffic stop experience.

* Invoke the “Golden Rule” and treat the officer the way you would like to
be treated.

* Remember that you are required to cooperate with all reasonable requests
that law enforcement personnel make.

* If an officer signals for you to stop, remain calm and pull over safely.

* Be prepared to produce your driver’s license, proof of vehicle insurance,
and the vehicle registration.

* Remain in the vehicle unless the officer tells you otherwise.

» Keep your hands visible.

* If a non-uniformed officer in an unmarked vehicle stops you, you can ask
the officer for identification.

* If you believe the reason for the stop is vague or unclear, you can ask the
officer for details.

* If you are uncomfortable about stopping because an area is deserted or not
well lit, explain this to the officer and ask if you can proceed to a more
populated or better illuminated place.

* Procedural questions and complaints about an officer’s treatment of you
can be forwarded to the officer’s supervisor.
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Don’t speed, drive aggressively, or drive while you are impaired. Always
wear your safety belt and correctly buckle up any children who are riding
with you. Yield to pedestrians when they have the right-of-way. If you fol-
low all traffic laws, you reduce your chances that the police will stop you.
Try to find the “positive” in the traffic stop. Use the information you have
received to make yourself a better motorist.

AGGRAVATED CIRCUMSTANCES
Mandatory jail time will be waiting for anyone convicted of DUI while:

Operating a motor vehicle in excess of 30 mph above the posted speed
limit.

Operating a motor vehicle in the wrong direction on a limited-access
highway.

Operating a motor vehicle that causes a collision resulting in death or seri-
ous physical injury.

Operating a motor vehicle while the alcohol concentration in the opera-
tor’s blood or breath is .18 BAC or more within two hours of cessation of
operation of a motor vehicle.

Refusing to take a blood, breath, or urine test requested by a police officer.

Operating a motor vehicle while transporting a passenger under the age of
12 years old.

REPEAT OFFENDERS

Drivers convicted of a second or subsequent DUI will forfeit their license

plates to the courts during the period of time in which the driver license is
suspended. The court may order an ignition interlock devise to be installed
on the violator’s vehicle after the driver serves a suspension period of at
least one year. The ignition interlock devise prevents a driver from operating
that vehicle if the driver’s breath-alcohol concentration exceeds .02.

PRESUMPTIONS OF LAW (KRS 189A.010)

% Blood-Alcohol “Under the Influence?”
.00 to .02 Presumed “Yes” under 21
.00 to .05 Presumed Not
.06 to .07 No Presumption

DRUGS
Almost any drug can affect your driving skill. This is true of prescription
drugs and drugs you can buy without prescription.

Most drugs taken for headaches, colds, hay fever, allergy, or to calm your
nerves can make you drowsy and can affect your control of the vehicle.
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* Most pills, “uppers,” and diet pills may make you more alert for a short
time; but later, they can make you nervous, dizzy, and unable to
concentrate. They can also affect your vision.

 Studies have shown that people who use marijuana make more mistakes
and are arrested more often than other drivers. Also, their eyes have
more trouble adjusting to headlight glare.

COMBINING DRUGS AND ALCOHOL

Combining alcohol and drugs, even over-the-counter drugs, is very
dangerous, and the results of this combination are unpredictable. Your
driving ability may be impaired; and in certain combinations, alcohol and
drugs may result in death. You should avoid taking any drugs before
driving which is labeled “may cause drowsiness or dizziness.” Kentucky
law prohibits driving under the influence of alcohol and/or other
substances that may impair one’s driving ability, such as prescription
drugs or over-the-counter drugs.

VISION AND HEARING
Good vision is necessary for driving. Most of what you do behind the
wheel is based on what you see.

 SEEING CLEARLY. If you cannot see clearly, you cannot judge
distance or spot trouble, so you will not be able to do anything about it.

* GOOD SIDE VISION. You need to see “out of the corner of your
eye.” This lets you spot vehicles creeping up on either side of you while
you are looking straight ahead.

* JUDGING DISTANCES. You can see clearly and still not be able to
judge distances. Good distance judgment is important in knowing how
far you are from other objects.

* GOOD NIGHT VISION. Many people who can see clearly in the day-
time have trouble seeing at night. Some people cannot make things out
in dim light. Others may have trouble with the glare of headlights.

* It is important to have your eyes checked every year or two. You may
never know about a slowly-developing vision problem unless your eyes
are checked periodically.

* HEARING is more important to driving than many people realize. Your
hearing can warn you of danger — the sound of horns, a siren, screeching
tires, etc. Sometimes you can hear vehicles that you cannot see.

* Hearing problems, like bad eyesight, can occur so slowly that you do
not notice them. Drivers who know they are deaf or have hearing prob-
lems can adjust. They can learn to rely more on their visual abilities.
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* Someone with a hearing problem who does not know it is taking a
chance each time he drives. A person may never know about a hear-
ing problem unless he has his hearing tested periodically.

ALERTNESS

When you are tired, you cannot drive as well as you do when you are

rested. Decisions are slower and more difficult to make, with a tendency to

become upset easily. There is always the chance you will fall asleep
behind the wheel. To keep from getting tired on a long trip:

* Get a lot of rest before you start — a normal night’s sleep.

* Do not take any drugs that can make you drowsy — even the night
before you start.

* Do not drive long hours. Driving straight through can be dangerous, if
you are tired and sleepy. Set a common-sense limit of 300 to 400 miles
a day. What good does it do to drive “straight through,” if you fall
asleep when you get there?

» Take regular rest stops, even if you are not tired. Switch off with
another driver every hour or so. Stop for coffee or a soft drink every 100
miles or every two hours.

* Keep shifting your eyes from one part of the road to another. Look at
objects near and far, left and right, and check the speedometer.

* Roll your window down to get some fresh air.

If none of the above suggestions seem to help you stay awake, the best thing
to do is pull off the highway at the first rest stop. A short nap may be enough
to refresh you.

HEALTH

Any health problem can affect your driving — a bad cold, infection, or a
virus. Even minor problems like a stiff neck, a cough, or a sore leg can
also affect driving. If you are not “up to par,” let someone else drive.

Driving under the following conditions can be very dangerous:

* EPILEPSY. In Kentucky, a person subject to seizures is not allowed to
drive unless a physician certifies that the individual has been seizure-
free for 90 days and is under medical supervision.

* DIABETES. Diabetics on insulin should not drive when there is any dan-
ger of going into shock. This danger could result from skipping a meal or
snack, or from taking the wrong amount of insulin. It is a good idea to
have a friend or relative drive for you during times when your doctor is
checking and adjusting the insulin dosage. Anyone with diabetes should
also have regular vision exams to check for possible night blindness.
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* HEART CONDITION. People with heart disease, high blood pressure,
or circulatory problems, should be especially cautions when driving. Be
aware of the potential for blackouts, fainting, or heart attack.

EMOTIONS

Emotions can have a great effect on your driving. You cannot drive well if

you are worried, excited, afraid, angry, or just depressed. Emotions are

hard to control. Here are a few tips:

 If you are angry or excited, give yourself time to cool off. Do not drive
until you have control of your emotions. If you are worried or depressed
about something, try to take your mind off it. Listen to the radio.

 If you are the impatient type, plan on allowing for delays by allotting
extra time to reach your destination. This will tend to keep you from
speeding or driving recklessly, which could result in a collision or
traffic ticket.

* Learn not to become upset when other drivers make a mistake or take
advantage of you in certain driving situations. Getting mad can only
cause you to make similar mistakes.

* If you are angry or upset with another person or driver, DO NOT vent
your feelings through use of your vehicle. When you drive, “Be Calm and
Stay Calm.”

AGGRESSIVE DRIVING AND ROAD RAGE

Aggressive driving and road rage are not the same thing. Road rage is
uncontrolled anger that results in violence or threatened violence on the
road. Road rage IS criminal behavior and shall not be tolerated. Aggressive
driving includes tailgating, abrupt lane changes, and speeding. These poten-
tially dangerous behaviors are traffic offenses, but are not criminal behavior.

To prevent the occurrence of road rage, drive safely and be courteous to
other motorists. Don’t tailgate, cut them off in traffic, or engage in other
aggressive driving habits. If you should become involved in a road-rage
incident, do not retaliate or engage in an argument with the enraged driver.
You will only worsen the problem. For your safety, you should safely pull
off the roadway in a well lit, public area and call for police assistance.

DISTRACTED/INATTENTIVE DRIVING

Being distracted from, or not giving full attention to your driving, could
result in serious consequences. Recent statistics in Kentucky reveal that
over 45% of all collisions are attributed to distracted/inattentive driving.
Some causes of distracted/inattentive driving are:
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Eating.

Looking for things inside of your vehicle.
Reading.

Talking on your cell phone.

Distractions cause drivers to react more slowly to traffic conditions. They
fail to recognize potential hazards such as debris in the roadway, or they
fail to see the car in front of them stopping.

While your are driving, your full attention is required. By not paying
attention to the traffic conditions ahead, you are a collision waiting to
happen. You should be continuously scanning the roadway ahead of you,

preparing to take evasive action if necessary.

In accordance with KRS 512.070, Littering is a Class A $ 500
misdemeanor. This could pretain, not only to our high- FINE
ways, but to any public or private property and waterway. FOR

LITTERING

PROTECTING YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE

SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION OF LICENSE
Your license may be Suspended or Revoked for any of the following reasons:

Driving under the influence of alcohol or other substances (DUI).
Manslaughter resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle.

Perjury or false affidavit to the Transportation Cabinet.

Felony involving use of a motor vehicle.

Reckless driving — three convictions within twelve months.

Leaving the scene of a collision, failure to stop and disclose identity or
render aid.

Theft of a motor vehicle or any part thereof.

Failure to maintain liability insurance.

Failure to satisfy a citation or Court Summons.

Failure to enroll in or complete State Traffic School upon sentence by
the Court.

Failure to complete a Graduated Licensing course for newly-licensed
drivers, 16 and 17 years of age.

Fraudulent use of a driver’s license to purchase or attempt to purchase
alcoholic beverages.

Theft of gasoline.

Operating a motor vehicle, motorcycle, or moped without a license.
Refusing to take a chemical test when asked to do so by a law-enforce-
ment officer.
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* Failing to pay child support.

* Fleeing or Evading Police.

* Operating a motor vehicle in violation of restrictions imposed by the
Transportation Cabinet.

CANCELLATION OF YOUR DRIVING PRIVILEGE

If you are under 18 years of age, the parent or legal guardian who signed
your driver license application can withdraw responsibility, possibly result-
ing in the cancellation of your license. If the parent or legal guardian with-
draws responsibility, you will have to wait until you are 18 years of age to
obtain a permit and license. To withdraw responsibility, the appropriate
forms and your permit/license must be turned in to the Circuit Clerk.

LICENSE VOLUNTARILY SURRENDERED

A driver may voluntarily surrender his Kentucky Driver License by complet-
ing an appropriate form in the Circuit Court Clerk’s office. To surrender your
license, submit the completed form and your driver’s license to the Clerk.

INSURANCE LAW

All motor vehicles registered or operated in Kentucky must be covered by
liability insurance and basic no-fault personal injury insurance. Failure to
carry insurance is a criminal offense. The penalties include fines, loss of
license plates, and loss of operator’s license.

Motor vehicle liability insurance polices must provide $25,000/$50,000
limits of liability for bodily injuries and $10,000 for property damage
liability. Liability coverage provides protection for damage to persons or
property. No-fault coverage pays up to $10,000 for medical expenses, lost
wages, and replacement services if one is injured in an automobile colli-
sion regardless of who may have been at fault. Higher limits of coverage
may be purchased.

If you decide to reject no-fault personal injury coverage and limitations on
your right to sue or be sued, your rejection must be in writing on a special
form established by the Kentucky Department of Insurance and filed with
the Department of Insurance. You may obtain this form from your insur-
ance agent, insurance company, or the Kentucky Department of Insurance.

Under no-fault personal injury coverage, your right to sue will be limited
in case of a minor injury. The rights of other persons to sue you will be
limited in a similar manner. However, if you do not want these limitations
on your right to sue or be sued, you have the option to reject the no-fault
act and the limitations on your right to sue or be sued.

74



Persons injured in traffic collisions who are entitled to no-fault personal
injury benefits will receive payments for their out-of-pocket losses up to
$10,000. Benefits will be paid by the company insuring the motor vehicle in
which they were riding, regardless of who was to blame for the collision. It
will no longer be necessary to await the results of a lengthy investigation to
determine liability before payment can begin.

The no-fault law is also a compulsory insurance law. Owners of motor
vehicles must have liability insurance. Motor vehicle liability insurance poli-
cies must provide $25,000/$50,000 limits of liability for bodily injuries and
$10,000 for property damage liability. An alternative to this “split limit”
arrangement is to purchase a “single limit” policy which has a limit of
liability of at least $60,000. All motor vehicle liability insurance policies
must provide a minimum of $10,000 no-fault personal-injury coverage.

Each company providing automobile liability insurance is required each
time it issues, renews or amends a policy to issue written proof that the
insured has in effect an insurance contract providing coverage in conformity
with Kentucky law. One (1) copy of the written proof of motor vehicle
insurance must be given to the County Clerk for registration renewal, and
the other copy must be kept in the vehicle it relates to and shown to peace
officers on request.

Driving safely affects your car insurance rates substantially. Every time
you have a collision, you risk having your premium raised. If you have
collisions, or convictions of certain violations, you may also be charged
more for insurance or risk cancellation of your insurance.

UNSATISFIED JUDGMENT

Any person failing to satisfy a judgment rendered against him for damages
resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle, within 60 days from the
date of said judgment shall have his driving privilege suspended by the
Transportation Cabinet. The suspension will remain in effect until 15
years have elapsed, or until the judgment has been satisfied. Upon satis-
faction, a court-attested copy of the satisfaction is to be sent to the
Cabinet, and the necessary reinstatement procedures must be followed.

For more detailed information on amounts and types of insurance coverage,
it is recommended that the motorist contact an insurance company.

THE KENTUCKY POINT SYSTEM
The purpose of the point system is to identify and assist those drivers who
need improvement before it becomes necessary to suspend their driving
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privilege. It serves to protect the safe and sensible drivers and correct
those who are reckless and irresponsible.

Under the point system, the Transportation Cabinet’s, Division of Driver
Licensing keeps a record of all moving traffic violations on each driver
licensed in Kentucky. These records are based on reports of traffic convic-
tions, forfeiture of bail, or payment of fine, with or without court appear-
ances, which are forwarded to the Division of Driver Licensing by the
courts throughout the United States. Assignment of point value to various
offenses is made to impress upon drivers that their driving records are
being monitored, and unless they comply with traffic laws, they may
develop a bad driving record, which could lead to the suspension of their
driver’s license.

Any driver accumulating as many as six (6) points may receive a form
letter from the Division of Driver Licensing advising him that immediate
action should be taken to improve his driving. The driver may be required
to appear for an interview with a representative of the Cabinet to deter-
mine his real driving problems.

At this interview, the Transportation Cabinet representative attempts to
determine if participation in a State Traffic School program would benefit
the driver. If he fails to appear for the interview, his driving privilege shall
be suspended for a period of six (6) months.

TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS AND THEIR POINT VALUES

Violation Type Points
Conviction for one of the following serious violations of the motor vehicle
laws may result in suspension of the driving privilege for the period of
time indicated:

Racing 90 Days
Speeding 26 MPH or more over speed limit 90 Days
Fleeing or Evading Police 90 Days

Conviction for any one of the following motor traffic offenses shall be
cause for assessment of the points indicated:

Speeding 15 MPH or less over the limit 3
Speeding 1-10 MPH over the limit on limited 0/Fine if

access highway Convicted
Speeding 11-15 MPH over the limit on limited

access highway 3
Speeding 15 MPH or over the limit on limited access

highway in a commercial motor vehicle 3
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Speeding 16 MPH or more, but less than 26 MPH,
over the limit

Failure to stop for church or school bus

Improper passing

Reckless driving

Driving on wrong side of roadway

Following too closely

Failure to yield to emergency vehicle

Changing drivers in a moving vehicle

Stop violation (electrical signal, railroad crossing,
stop sign)

Failure to yield

Failure to yield right of way to pedestrian

Failure to obey a traffic control device

Wrong way on one-way street

Too fast for conditions

Too slow for conditions

Improper start

Improper driving

Careless driving

Improper lane usage

Improper use of left lane on limited access highway

Failure to illuminate headlights

Failure to dim headlights

Any other moving hazardous violations

Commission of a moving hazardous violation which
involves a collision

Combination of two or more hazardous violations
in any one continuous occurrence 6
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Points assessed under the Kentucky Point System expire two (2) years
from the date of conviction. However, the conviction remains part of the
driver’s record for a period of five (5) years for an operator’s license and
ten (10) years for a commercial driver’s license.

If a person of eighteen or more years accumulates six or more points with-
in a two-year period, the Transportation Cabinet may send a letter that
shall advise him of the number of penalty points on his driving history
record, and shall inform him of the penalties which may be imposed if he
were to accumulate twelve points within two years.

If a person under the age of eighteen accumulates four or more points
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within a two-year period, the Transportation Cabinet may send a letter that
shall advise him of the number of penalty points on his driving history
record, and shall inform him of the penalties which may be imposed if he
were to accumulate more than six prior to his eighteenth birthday.

If a person of eighteen or more years accumulates twelve points within a
period of two years, or a person less than eighteen accumulates more than
six points in a period of two years, the Cabinet may suspend the driving
privilege for a period of six months for the first accumulation of points,
one year for the second accumulation of points, and two years for any sub-
sequent accumulation of points within a two-year period. For any offense
for which the suspension of the driving privilege is six months or less for
the first offense, the second conviction of a similar offense shall result in a
suspension period of not less than one year, and any subsequent conviction
for any similar offense not less than two years. If the Cabinet suspends the
driving privilege of a person more than one (1) time, the suspension times
shall run consecutively.

After a hearing, the department may require the driver to be placed on
“probation” in lieu of suspension and attend a driver improvement clinic
(State Traffic School) approved by the Transportation Cabinet.

Once a driver has been placed on “probation” by the Cabinet, he shall not be
considered for probation again until a lapse of two (2) years from the ending
date of any previous probation period granted, whether served or not.

THE KENTUCKY STATE TRAFFIC SCHOOL PROGRAM

The Kentucky State Traffic School Program began in 1980. It is used as a

tool to educate the driving public and promote safe driving behavior. A

licensee may attend this program one of two ways:

1) Be referred by the court system as a result of any moving traffic vio-
lation other than one that requires a mandatory suspension, or

2) as a stipulation of being placed on probation.

The theme of these clinics is:

*  Know the rules of the road.

*  Have the proper driving attitude.
*  Practice defensive driving habits.

Once you attend the State Traffic School Program for either reason,
attendance is not permitted again for one year from the date you were
referred. State Traffic School Clinics are conducted in over 50 locations
throughout the state. Voluntary enrollment is not permitted.
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Advantages to attending are:

* No points are assessed for the violation.

* Insurance companies are not permitted to obtain the information if
normal enrollment and completion occur.

* The driving public is better informed of safe driving habits and attitudes
thereby making the highways safer for everyone.

DRIVER SUBSTANCE ABUSE EDUCATION PROGRAM
Kentucky’s DUI law went into effect on October 1, 2000. The law
requires every first and multiple offender(s) convicted of DUI to receive
an assessment in a program licensed and certified by the Cabinet for
Human Resources (CHR). On the basis of the assessment, every individual
must attend an alcohol education or treatment program approved by CHR.
An individual must satisfactorily complete the alcohol education or treat-
ment program before reinstatement of his driving privilege. Participants in
these programs will be given comprehensive information about alcohol
and other drugs to increase awareness and knowledge, and to change an
individual’s attitude and behavior in relation to substance abuse. The indi-
vidual must pay all mandatory alcohol assessment, education, or treatment
fees to the program.

With payment of the required fee for license reinstatement, a notice of
completion from an approved DUI program, and after expiration of the
period of license suspension, an individual convicted of DUI is eligible to
get his license reissued by the Circuit Clerk’s office.

THE MEDICAL REVIEW BOARD
The Kentucky State Police does not discriminate on the basis of race,
color, national origin, sex, religion, age or disability.

Upon request, the Kentucky State Police will provide reasonable accom-
modations necessary to afford an individual with a disability an equal
opportunity to participate in all testing phases.

The Medical Review Board is administered through the Kentucky Trans-
portation Cabinet. Its purpose is to provide the administrator with sound
medical advice concerning the licensing of individuals with physical or
mental impairments.

Any driver with a medically-diagnosable impairment who does not possess
the minimum physical or mental abilities to safely operate a vehicle under
all conditions will have his driving activities curtailed accordingly.

Physically or mentally impaired drivers are brought to the attention of the
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division by reports received from law enforcement agencies, courts, or
interested individuals having personal, detailed knowledge of the impair-
ment. In the event a report is accepted under the above criterion, the
licensee will be required to forward a completed medical questionnaire
to the Division of Driver Licensing. The medical report will be submitted
to a review board consisting of medical specialists appointed by the
Commissioner of the Department of Vehicle Regulation. The board will
study the report and, based on their medical expertise, recommend restric-
tions limiting the impaired drivers to operating within their capabilities.

Drivers with a seizure condition must be seizure free for a period of at
least ninety (90) days prior to an original application or renewal of a dri-
ver’s license. KRS 186.411 states a person with an epileptic condition
shall present to the Division of Driver Licensing certification by a physi-
cian that his condition is controlled by drugs, details of the drugs, dosage
of same which the person takes, his own statement that he has been free of
seizures for at least 90 days before date of the application, and that he is
taking the medication prescribed by his physician. When the Division
receives such certification, the condition is monitored by the Medical
Review Board through periodic medical questionnaires.

TRAFFIC SIGNALS

STANDARD COLORS

RED
Stop or forbidden.

GREEN

Indicates movements
permitted, directional
guidance.

YELLOW
General warning.
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STANDARD SHAPES

Shapes are also helpful to identify particular signs. Among the standard shapes are:

C
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OCTAGON
(eight-sided) — used
only for stop signs.

HORIZONTAL
RECTANGLE
(rectangle parallel or
across) — generally
for guide signs.

EQUILATERAL
TRIANGLE
(triangle standing on
its point) — used
only for yield signs.

VERTICAL
RECTANGLE
(upright) —
generally for
regulating signs.

PENNANT

(tapers to a point) —
advance warning of
no-passing zones.

DIAMOND

(a square standing

on a point — shape
of a baseball field) —
used only for warning
of existing or possible
hazards on roadway
or adjacent area.

PENTAGON
(five-sided)—

school advance and
school warning signs.

ROUND

(circle) — railroad
advance warning
signs.

PEDESTRIANS
PROHIBITED
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REGULATORY SIGNS
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WARNING SIGNS
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ADDITIONAL SIGNS
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84



GENERAL INFORMATION

MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION

Proof of Vehicle Ownership is Required. A Certificate of Title is proof
of ownership. Upon transfer of ownership, the title and application for a
new title must be delivered to the appropriate County Clerk. The fee for
obtaining a title is $6. A title may be obtained without registering the
vehicle for highway use. Titles are mailed to the owners. Lien information
must be recorded on the owner’s copy. An out-of-state vehicle subject to a
security interest in another state may not be registered in Kentucky until
the lien is recorded.

Passenger vehicles are registered on a staggered system by birth month.
There is no grace period.

Application for registration must be made to the County Clerk in the
county where the car is principally operated.

Registration Fees are staggered by birth month. The State fee is $1 per
month, and the Clerk’s fee is $3 per twelve-months period. The license
plate remains with the vehicle upon transfer of ownership and expires on
the previous owner’s birth date.

A car purchased in another state may not be registered in Kentucky prior
to entry. Exception is made for cars owned by Kentucky resident military
personnel. Vehicles are subject to a 6% usage tax. Credit may be allowed
for similar tax paid in other states. A nonresident must register his vehicle
in Kentucky at expiration of the time granted by reciprocity agreement
with his home state. Immediately upon residence being established, a
Kentucky license plate must be purchased.

A special license plate for a person with a disability is available upon
application, with a medical certificate, to the County Clerk.

Personal Liability and Property Damage insurance is required. Proof is
required upon renewal of registration, and proof of insurance must be in
the vehicle at all times.

DRIVERS LICENSE

Your license is valid from the date issued through the expiration date shown
on the license. You may renew your license up to six months before your
expiration date by applying in person to your local Circuit Court Clerk.
When a person under 21 years old is issued a driver’s license, it will be
valid until 30 days after his twenty-first birthday.

A Kentucky driver’s license must be obtained immediately when
residence has been established.
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A nonresident is permitted to use his home state operator’s license on a
reciprocal basis. A visitor’s permit is not required.

The minimum age to operate a vehicle in Kentucky is 16. A parent’s or
guardian’s signature is required of those under 18.

NOTE: AN OUT-OF-STATE LICENSE ISSUED TO A PERSON
UNDER SIXTEEN (16) IS NOT VALID ON KENTUCKY STREETS
AND HIGHWAYS.

Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Web Site:
www.transportation.ky.gov

YOUR ORGAN DONOR CARD

On the back of the operator’s license you will find an organ-donor card. It
provides the Kentucky motorist an opportunity to express his or her wishes
regarding organ donations.

If you or a family member needed a kidney or other vital organs to live,
would you be able to get one? Probably not without a long wait due to the
critical shortage. There are a number of questions which must be answered
in order to make an educated decision on becoming an organ donor.

1. Can anyone sign a donor card?

Yes. However, individuals under 18 years of age may become a donor if
either parent or legal guardian give consent.

2. What organs and tissues are needed?

Recent advances have made it possible to transplant 25 different tissues and
organs such as kidneys, heart, pancreas, lungs, liver, corneas, bone marrow,
heart valves, and skin. Success rates are better now than ever before. In fact,
the first and still most successful transplant is a blood transfusion.

3. Will my estate have to pay for the donation?

No. All expenses incurred in the donation are paid by the Transplant
Program.

4. What about religious and ethical considerations regarding transplantation?
Moral leaders the world over favor such donations as expressions of the
highest humanitarian ideals. If you have any questions, please consult your
clergyman.

5. What about funeral or burial arrangements?

Removal of organs or tissues authorized by a donor will not interfere with
customary funeral or burial services.

6. How are organs distributed?

Organs are distributed based upon compatibility of donor and recipient tis-
sues. Social or financial position is never a factor in selecting a
recipient.
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Transplantation has had a more dramatic effect on the course of terminal
illness than any other form of therapy. However, the future depends upon
increasing the number of organs donated. Organ donation is truly the Gift
of Life. The donor card on your license may be signed and witnessed over
the plastic surface. Although not required (unless under 18), it is a good
idea for the two witnesses to include family members.

TRUST FOR LIFE

The Kentucky General Assembly has made it possible for you to donate
$1 for the TRUST FOR LIFE fund when you renew your license through
your Circuit Court Clerk. The money will be used to increase public
awareness and education regarding the need for organ donation.

SMART DRIVING HELPS CONSERVE ENERGY AND
IMPROVES AIR QUALITY

Smart driving pays dividends not only in avoiding the inconvenience,
pain, and expense of traffic collisions, but also in reducing air pollution
and gasoline costs.

Safety and conservation both depend on:

» Keeping your vehicle in good running condition.
» Using good driving habits.

* Driving only when necessary.

KEEP YOUR VEHICLE IN GOOD CONDITION
A vehicle in good mechanical condition is safer, easier to drive, more
dependable, and uses less fuel.

Regular mechanical maintenance will also assure that your vehicle will be
better able to move safely in traffic, avoid road breakdowns, save gasoline,
and pollute less. For example, regular tune-ups will give more dependable
engine performance and improve fuel economy as much as 15 percent.
Check tire pressure regularly. Under-inflated tires increase gas consump-
tion and can make your vehicle more difficult to handle. Also, under-
inflated tires will wear faster and are more prone to “blowout.”

Motor vehicles are major contributors to ground level ozone. Ozone pollu-
tion contributes to health problems such as chronic lung and heart dis-
eases, allergies, and asthma. Young children, older adults, and people
who work or play outside are at the highest risk for health problems relat-
ed to ground-level ozone. Although today’s new vehicles emit fewer pollu-
tants than older vehicles, their emission levels will increase unless they
are carefully maintained. As a vehicle ages, its performance and fuel
economy diminishes. Vehicle emissions testing programs in major popula-
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tion centers of the state identify vehicles with increased emission levels,
alerting the owner to needed maintenance. As vehicles are repaired, vehi-
cle emissions are reduced, and the vehicle owner will usually see improve-
ments in performance and fuel economy.

USE GOOD DRIVING TECHNIQUES

Plan your driving. Allow enough driving time to get to your destination
safely. Avoid rush hours and congested areas when possible. Avoid quick
starts and stops. Drive smoothly and at moderate speeds. Pace your
driving to the traffic and signal timing, so that you can keep braking and
acceleration to a minimum.

Smooth operation of your vehicle will result in better gas mileage, which
means less cost to you. Also, your vehicle will not be put in as much
strain; this too will result in less maintenance and repair costs.

DRIVE LESS - CONSIDER OTHER MODES OF TRAVEL
Drive only when necessary. Combine as many trips as you can.

Your vehicle is really safest and most economical when it is parked. Con-
sider carpooling, taking the bus, using a bicycle, or walking.

For more information about air pollution, vehicle emissions testing pro-
grams, and alternative transportation options, please visit these websites:

KY Transportation Cabinet — www.transportation.ky.gov

KY Division For Air Quality — http://www.eppc.ky.gov

Jefferson County Air Pollution Control District —
http://www.apcd.org

AGING DRIVERS

We all want to keep our ability to drive and go wherever and whenever we

want. However, we should be aware of the warning signs that our driving

may not be as safe as it once was. Please find warning signs listed below.

If more than one of these signs has happened to you or to someone you

care about, you may wish to have his driving reevaluated. You may

contact the Division of Driver Licensing, Medical Review Board, at

502-564-6800 for more information.

¢ A friend or family member has expressed concern about your driving.

* You sometimes get lost while driving on routes that were once familiar.

* You have been pulled over by a police officer and warned about
poor driving behavior, regardless of whether you received a ticket.

* You have had several moving violations, near misses, or actual colli-
sions in the past one to three years.
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* Your doctor or other health caregiver has advised you to restrict or

stop driving.

APPOINTMENTS FOR DRIVING TESTS
If you live in one of the following counties, you will be required to make an
appointment for the skills (driving) test. You may do so by phone or in person.

Adair
Ballard
Barren
Boone
Boyle
Bullitt
Butler
Calloway
Campbell
Christian
Daviess
Fayette
Franklin
Fulton
Graves
Grayson
Hardin
Harlan
Henderson
Hickman
Hopkins
Jefferson

Jessamine

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration

(270) 384-2626
(270) 335-5123
(270) 651-3763
(859) 334-3904
(859) 239-7940
(502) 543-2511
(270) 526-5631
(270) 753-2714
(859) 292-6311
(270) 889-6560
(270) 683-9932
(859) 246-2156
(502) 564-4576
(270) 236-3944
(270) 247-7131
(270) 259-3040
(270) 766-5002
(606) 573-6718
(270) 826-2405
(270) 653-3901
(270) 824-7503
(502) 454-3327
(502) 454-4497
(859) 887-1713

Kenton
Knott
Larue
Letcher
Lincoln
Logan
McCracken
Marshall
Meade
Mercer
Nelson
Ohio
Oldham
Perry
Pike
Simpson
Taylor
Todd
Trigg
Union
Warren
Washington
Woodford

WEBSITES

Kentucky Transportation Cabinet

Kentucky State Police

(859) 727-8100
(606) 785-5021
(270) 358-3421
(606) 633-9979
(606) 365-2535
(270) 726-2424
(270) 444-4745
(270) 527-3883
(270) 422-4961
(859) 734-6308
(502) 348-3648
(270) 298-3671
(502) 222-1979
(606) 435-6093
(606) 433-7533
(270) 586-4241
(270) 465-6686
(270) 265-2343
(270) 522-6270
(270) 389-2264
(270) 746-7419
(859) 336-3761
(859) 873-3711

www.fmcsa.dot.gov

www.kytc.state.ky.us/DRLIC/

www.kentuckystatepolice.org

To report road hazards, such as potholes, roadway obstruction, trees down, high water,
traffic signals and etc, please contact the Transportation Cabinet at 1-877-FOR KYTC

(367-5982).

To report accidents and/or criminal activity contact the State Police Post nearest you at

one of the numbers listed on the following page or 1-800-222-5555
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STATE POLICE POSTS AND NUMBERS

Ashland
Bowling Green
Campbellsburg
Columbia

Dry Ridge
Elizabethtown
Frankfort
Harlan

(606) 928-6421
(270) 782-2010
(502) 532-6363
(270) 384-4796
(859) 428-1212
(270) 766-5078
(502) 2272221
(606) 573-3131

Hazard
Henderson
London
Madisonville
Mayfield
Morehead
Pikeville
Richmond

PRACTICE DRIVING LOG

(606) 435-6069
(270) 826-3312
(606) 878-6622
(270) 6763313
(270) 856-3721
(606) 784-4127
(606) 433-7711
(859) 623-2404

Each 16 or 17 year old driver must have 60 hours of driving practice (10 hours
of the mandatory 60 hours must be at night.) The applicant and the
parent/guardian who certifies the driver training must sign the log. NOTICE:
Two (2) days prior to Road Test, visit www.kytc.state.ky.us/drlic to print Veri-
fication Letter. This letter is Mandatory in order to take Road Test.

NIGHT DRIVING RECORD (10 hours mandatory)

Date of Driving

Amount of Driving Time

Parent/Guardian Initials
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DAY DRIVING RECORD
The above requirements also apply to any applicant who was issued a per-
mit prior to their 18th birthday.

Date of Driving

Amount of Driving Time

Parent/Guardian Initials

By signing below, I certify that this practice-driving log is correct.

Applicant’s Signature

Parent/Guardian Signature

The above record has been reviewed by a Kentucky State Police License
Examiner and shows that the applicant and parent/guardian have docu-
mented 60 hours of driving.

KSP License Examiner

Date
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BUCKLE UP
KENTUCKY

IT'S THE LAW &
|T'S ENFORCED]

*Kentucky law requires motorist to
approach cautiously when an
emergency vehicle is stopped
ahead with its lights flashing.

*Motorists must change lanes away
from the emergency vehicle if they
are on a multi-lane highway and can
do so safely.

«If drivers can’t change lanes safely,
or they are on a two-lane highway,
they must slow down while
maintaining a safe speed so as not to
impede other traffic.

*Violations can result in fines.

Be Alert.
Slow Down.
Move Over!
Buckle Up!

Kentudki™

UNERIDLED SPIRIT
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