Engineering Support Branch
​The engineering support branch includes the staff of engineers, administrative specialists, technicians, electricians, mechanics and operators within the traffic and permits, structures, equipment, roadside agronomy and materials sections. These dedicated employees ensure that technical support is present to complete District 9's highway projects.
Ashland Bridge

 Traffic & Permits

Highway SignsThe traffic and permits section provides collision data, engineering studies, commercial permit reviews, and traffic control installation such as signs and signals. This section also administers contracts for roadway striping, panel signs and raised pavement markers, to name a few services that make travel in the Commonwealth more efficient. Section leader is Vickie Griggs.



​The structures section is primarily responsible for the mandated structural inspections of all designated roadway structures within the district. this section also consists of special crews responsible for repair of roadway structures, guardrail and drainage structures within the district. Section leader is  Blake Jones.



​The equipment section is primarily responsible for maintaining, repairing, inventory and disbursement of the equipment fleet within the district - from passenger vehicles and dump trucks to chainsaws and excavators. This section is also responsible for developing replacement schedules for the fleet within the district. Section leader is Jimmy Jones.

 Roadside Agronomy

RoadsideThe roadside agronomy Section is responsible for noxious weed control, various herbicide and fertilize applications, landscaping and nuisance tree/brush removal on state right of way. the section also administers contracts such as rest area maintenance and right of way mowing, among others. Section leader is Kristie Gifford.


The materials section is responsible for ensuring all materials used in the process of building, repairing or maintaining any facet of our state roadways and or facilities including but not limited to embankment, pavement, roadway structures, drainage structures, lighting poles and their components meet the minimum requirements set forth by the Transportation Cabinet and Department of Highways. Acting section leader is Rick Dailey.​
Contact Information Contact Info
Department of Highways District 9
P.O. Box 347
822 Elizaville Ave
Flemingsburg, KY 41041
Toll Free: (800) 817-2551
Phone: (606) 845-2551
Hours: 8am - 4:30pm EST, M-F
Map it
Daran Razor, P.E., Branch Manager


Adopt-A-Highway Program

​Contact Jenny Perkins
Highway District 9 AAH Coordinator
(800) 817-2551