District 10 Home

News Release Archives



KYTC District 10 logo 
News Release
Contact: H.B. Elkins
Public Information Officer
KYTC District 10
State highway equipment operators participate in eighth annual District 10 Equipment Roadeo
Estill County defends its overall championship; individual winners from Morgan, Breathitt, Lee, Estill and Owsley counties
JACKSON, KY – The Kentucky Department of Highways Estill County Maintenance crew successfully defended its overall crew championship at the eighth annual District 10 Equipment Roadeo, held June 5 at the District 10 Equipment Garage and Lee County Maintenance Garage in Beattyville. Landon Lawson from Morgan County won the overall individual championship, and individual event winners hailed from Breathitt, Estill, Lee and Owsley counties.
This year’s event was held earlier in the year than past Roadeos to allow winners to advance to the state competition. The annual Roadeo brings together equipment operators from the district’s county garages for a day of friendly competition and fellowship.
The event allows equipment operators from the district’s county crews to show their skills in operating the equipment they use to maintain state highways in the district. The obstacle courses simulated actual situations equipment operators may encounter in the performance of their duties.
Individual event winners were:
·         Backhoe: Greg Arvin, Estill County, first place; Pat Graham, Powell County, second place.
·         Snowplow obstacle course: Richard Mazurek, Owsley County, first place; Stan Howard, Magoffin County, second place.
·         Tractor with bushhog: Kenneth Morris, Lee County, first place; Scott Farthing, Estill County, second place.
·         Grader: Dave McIntosh, Roadside Development (District office in Jackson/Breathitt County), first place; Landon Lawson, Morgan County, second place.
Competitions in free-throw shooting and corn toss were also held. Steve Howard and Chuck Ward from Magoffin County won the corn toss competition, while Mike Riley from Breathitt County was the champion free-throw shooter.
The individual equipment operating contest winners and runners-up will advance to a statewide competition against participants from the other 11 highway districts across Kentucky, to be held in August. This year, a regional competition with participants from Kentucky and several nearby states will be held at the Kentucky Horse Park in September.
"Operating the equipment necessary to maintain our highways year-round, and to keep them clear of snow and ice in the winter, takes a lot of skill and knowledge. The Roadeo gives our employees a chance to show off their abilities,” said Corbett Caudill, chief district engineer. “This event also gives our employees from our county garages, who don’t get to have much interaction with other crews on a regular basis, to know that they are all part of one team and that we appreciate all of them for their effort and hard work."
District 10 encompasses the counties of Breathitt, Estill, Lee, Magoffin, Menifee, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Powell and Wolfe in east-central and southeastern Kentucky.

Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
Department of Highways, District 10 * 473 Highway 15 South, P.O. Box 621 * Jackson, KY 41339
Navigate traffic with KYTC, www.511.ky.gov, and Waze, www.waze.com!